We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here weekly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edson

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Edson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4520 2nd Avenue, Edson, Alberta T7E 1C3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Edson
Ponoka
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stay here weekly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I am in and out of hotels in Edson over the last 2 years and this is the best I stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
8
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

No clue about Platinum member benefits. I did not get upgraded. By itself, that doesn't bother me. But when I know someone else got upgraded, and when I know that person wasn't even enrolled in PC, and when I know that person stays at IHG properties less than twice a year, it bothers me. I know this because the person who got the upgrade was a colleague of mine and I know we booked the same day at the same price. Needs better training. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here one night for a sporting event in town. The hotel offers a nice hot/cold continental breakfast with a good variety of items. The rooms are very nice with a large bathroom and vanity area. The beds were comfortable and the linens were soft and cozy. There were many work crews staying a the hotel but it was very quiet and you are only a couple miutes away from everything in town. Boston pizza is right next door in the same parking lot. Would definitely stay again. Kids will enjoy the indoor pool and waterside.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I often need to head to Edson for business and this was the first time I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. I have to say I was impressed with the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. Keep in mind that it is a relatively new hotel so it does not show a lot of wear-and-tear yet. Just keep that in mind.

On business I am looking for a couple of key things. First, a comfortable bed. I have stayed at hotels all over the world and I must say this was a bed that was right up there. A nice feature was the soft and firm pillows, both available in the room, and nicely labelled on the pillow case.

Second key thing is a good shower. The room I had had that with good pressure and not one of those cheap shower heads that you need to contort your body to get all the shampoo out.

The fitness room was a downside as it was small and didn't really have a full setup. I need a full suite of weights and this hotel did not have that. There is a pool with a waterside, but I did not use that.

Overall, a good choice in Edson for a quick business trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Wonderful Stay! This hotel is very clean, comfortable, king bed, fridge, microwave, coffee & convenient. The staff is very friendly & you get continental breakfast plus 20% off at Boston Pizza.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I recently stayed here for 2 nights while on business. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. I was upgraded when I checked in and the room was spotless. Cleaning staff was very efficient and willing to work around my schedule. Complementary breakfast was much appreciated after some late nights. The facilities were well kept, although the steam room was not working during my stay.

With a Holiday Inn you know what to expect, reasonable place, this Holiday Inn exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: Elevator is noisy and slow, try to stay away from it if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here for four months while working in Edson,AB the staff was amazing, My room was always clean and always fully stocked, I would stay at no other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edson

Address: 4520 2nd Avenue, Edson, Alberta T7E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Edson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edson 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newer Edson, Alberta Hotel convenient to Highway 16 The new Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Edson, Alberta is located off the Trans Canada Yellowhead Route, Highway 16, between Edmonton and Jasper National Park and is convenient to many local businesses and attractions. Leisure travelers looking for lodging in Edson, Alberta will enjoy staying at our hotel while they explore everything that Edson has to offer. You can take advantage of Alberta's famous fishing and hunting or explore nature through hiking or biking one of the many local nature trails. Explore Bear Lake or Shining Bank Lake, Willmore Park, Hornbeck Cross Country Ski Area, and Silver Summit Ski Hill. You can also learn more about the community of Edson by visiting local museums and exploring the nearby city parks. With convenient access to businesses such as Encana Corporation, Weyerhaeuser, Northern Provincial Pipeline, Sundance Forest Industries and Talisman Energy as well as local banks and other industries, our Edson, AB hotel is perfect for travelers conducting business in the Edson area. During your stay, be sure to enjoy a swim in the indoor pool with a water slide, relax in the whirlpoolor work out in the Fitness Centre. You can eat well each morning with the free Express Start hot breakfast bar featuring 100% Arabica bean Smart Roast coffee. Check out our great Edson, Alberta hotel deals, and book your stay with us today. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edson is proud to be a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edson Hotel Edson
Holiday Inn Express Edson Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.