We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kanata by BCMInns

Save Saved
You added The Kanata by BCMInns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kanata by BCMInns
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9820 - 86 Avenue, Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta T0A 3K0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The beds are super comfortable. We usually stay at the hamptons, and have to say this hotel is one of the nicest we have stayed at. Way better then the hamptons. Even the complimentary breakfast was fantastic. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Kanata by BCMInns, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us in Fort Saskatchewan.

We truly do appreciate the kind words and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our absolute best to give our guests an experience that will keep them coming back to us. We know that part of that is starting the day off with a good breakfast and getting a good sleep.

Thank you very much again and we look forward to serving you again when you are in Fort Saskatchewan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
14
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Held a conference at this hotel and it was excellent. The food was very good and the staff were most accommodating. The conference room was very well equipped for the meeting to proceed successfully. The room I was appointed was fantastic! What a pleasant surprise to have a suite assigned to me: granite eating counter with microwave/bar fridge/coffee maker, couch/chair and fireplace in the "living room", bedroom was a separate room with a magnificent comfortable kingsize bed, jacuzzi tub, shower and steamer combined. A lovely treat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Kanata by BCMInns, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us in Fort Saskatchewan. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that your meeting was so successful. We absolutely do our best to make our guests feel at home and give them the best services we can offer.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again next time you are in our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The lady at the front deck was very friendly and helpful. Very clean and comfortable rooms. We were there for two great nights. The rooms were decorated very nicely. Beds and pillows were super! Didn't want to get out of the bed.Breakfast was good as will. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Kanata by BCMInns, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us and thank you for the kind words about our property. Our team takes a lot of pride in the hotel and what we have to offer for sure.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Fort Saskatchewan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Hills, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot for work & find the average hotel rather 'ho hum', so attention to small things makes a big difference for me. Kanata is one such place.

Most hotel beds are utilitarian & not the best quality. I loved the soft, pillowy feel of the King I slept in - definitely not the norm for most places.

Room decor was inviting and pleasant.

Most hotels offer some sort of a 'free breakfast', although one is never quite sure what that actually means. I was pleasantly surprised by the array of hot & cold offerings of this facility. Waffles, pancakes, sausage, bacon, eggs, decent hash browns along with a great selection of breads, fruit, cereal, yoghurt & drinks. Even the breakfast room had a warm, welcoming environment.

A good option to consider when in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Kanata by BCMInns, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us here in Fort Saskatchewan and thank you for the kind words about our hotel.

We absolutely do strive to ensure that we are consistently offering quality service and quality product here. I am glad that you enjoyed your bed and had a good sleep, as well as got a good start to the day with our breakfast.

Thank you again for your time in writing this to us and we look forward to serving you again when you are in Fort Saskatchewan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Was in town for a meeting the next day and the hotel clerk was very helpful and cheerful at checkin! The next day they were even very good about a late check out! Room was very clean! Even plugins for the cold night! Not sure about others saying bad internet/service ... There were about 10+ connections for wifi to choose from...And great Staff!
Hot Breakfast Buffet was great! you'd Pay $12+/person for this and it's free! Bacon, eggs, waffles, pancakes,toast, bagels, coffee, Juice, Fruit, Yogurt!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Kanata by BCMInns, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at here in Fort Saskatchewan. We absolutely do pride ourselves in the team that we have and the product that we offer, both in our rooms and in our breakfast selection. We know the importance of getting the day off to a good start.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again next time you are in Fort Saskatchewan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kanata Inn in Fort Saskatchewan. On checking in on Christmas Eve we were told there would be no breakfast on Christmas morning (although they advertise the breakfast as part of the booking), and that there would be no housekeeping on Christmas Day - so no towels, etc. Okay, we could live with that. On Christmas night we returned to our hotel - had to go to the main floor to get ice for a drink in the room, as the ice machine on the 3rd floor didn't work. I tried to have a bath, however the drain plug did not hold, and the water leaked out as fast as I tried to fill it. During the night the temperature in our room went up to 85 degrees F. We reported this to the front desk clerk the next morning as we were leaving the hotel. When we returned that evening the room temperature was 65F, and the window was wide open. Closed the window, set the temp for 68F. During the night again the temperature rose to over 80F. We tried turning on the a/c but it was so noisy, and cutting in/out every 5 minutes that we couldn't sleep. Called down to the desk abut midnight - and a young man listened to my story, and replied "have a good night". Really???? The next morning at check-out our bill reflected approximately 8% discount for "unsatisfactory stay". The clerk on the desk was very cool, and said the problem was because of the fluctuation in outdoor temperature, and she had the same problem at her apartment!
This hotel is beautiful, and the room was comfortable and nice. Unfortunately, the attitude of the staff, and heating system will prevent us from returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Kanata by BCMInns, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us in Fort Saskatchewan.

I want to first of all apologize for the experience you had with us. At the Kanata Inn we always strive to make sure our guests feel welcome and valued. Any concern that you have is something that we should be addressing and taking action to correct. You are the reason we are here and the service you receive and the comforts that we offer are absolutely of the highest importance.

Your understanding about Christmas Day with the breakfast is greatly appreciated, as we want all of our team to enjoy their Christmas with their friends and family. Thank you very much for brining to our attention the concerns you had with your guest room. This is how we, as a group, learn and grow so that we can ensure that guests are completely satisfied.

Thank you very much again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and for the kind words about the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel and the room. I do hope we will see you again and I hope you had a happy holiday season.

Regards,

Andrew Mackinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The staff seemed indifferent that I'm there. It's not like it's busy times and they don't need one more guest, the hotel was pretty much empty. Internet didn't work for 2 out of the 6 nights I was there. Reported to front desk staff and she couldn't care less. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Kanata by BCMInns, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at the Kanata Inn. I sincerely thank you for the insight and apologize if one of our associates left you feeling the way you did. I assure you that at the Kanata Inn we absolutely value all of our guests and their feedback so we know where we shine and we can learn where our opportunities are.

Thank you again for your time and passing this valuable information to us so we can improve. I hope that we will get another opportunity to serve you while you are in Fort Saskatchewan.

Kindest regards,

Andrew M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kanata by BCMInns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kanata by BCMInns

Address: 9820 - 86 Avenue, Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta T0A 3K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Fort Saskatchewan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Fort Saskatchewan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kanata by BCMInns 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest suites have been designed with spacious and unique layouts to meet the needs of traveling families, business guests and large groups or sports teams. For the comfort of our guests Simmons Beauty Rest World Class Bouveat Island Plush Pillow Top Mattresses(C) accompanied by a 42" LCD flat screen TV's furnish all the rooms. Our "Hot & Hearty Heartland Breakfast" is complementary to our guest's every morning. We offer a variety of amenities including; Business Center, Fitness room, Whirlpool Tub, Banquet and Meeting facilities, Guest Laundry Services, and quality In-Room amenities. With our "Yes, we can!" Attitude, you will be impressed at the Kanata by BCMInns. We are a unique blend of Heartland Hospitality and 21st century technology. Our guest will enjoy Impeccable Style, Spectacular Service and Detail-Oriented Amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Kanata by BCMInns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospitality Inns Hotel Fort Saskatchewan
Hospitality Inns And Suites
The Kanata By BCMInns Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kanata by BCMInns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.