We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Alberta Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocking R Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rocking R Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Rocking R Guest Ranch
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Alberta Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Terri and Marv really make you feel at home.
My husband and I stayed in the Bunkhouse for four wonderful days. The accommodation is immaculate with comfortable beds and full kitchen (you need bring nothing but the grociers).
The view from the bunkhouse and hot tub is pastoral: lush green grass, a pasture of beautiful horses and beyond an unobstructed view of Eagle Lake with incredible sunsets. Even the stars are brighter at the Rocking R .
Terri is an excellent cook and brought out two course breakfasts to the cabin.
I agree with others that the attention to detail is exceptional and really made us feel spoiled ( I loved it!!)
Marv took us out for a trail ride and is a knowledgeable horseman and an good companion (ask him about Calgary Stampede)
The area has many beautiful drives to small town attractions close by. We attended Rosebud Dinner Theater, Black Foot Crossing and Aspen Landing and thoroughly enjoyed them all. Terri supplied us with directions and information that made everything easy.
If you are looking for a restfully romantic getaway or just a change of pace the Rocking R Ranch is an exceptional experience not to be missed. On a scale of 1-10 this is a 12.

Room Tip: The bunkhouse has two bedrooms and unobstructed veiw of the pasture and Eagle Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I booked this for a weekend retreat, and wanted to also take in the Rosebud Dinner theatre (which is approx. 40 minutes away). This resort was simply perfect! Terri has thought of every last detail to make your stay memorable. Our cabin was immaculate, and very tastefully decorated. We felt very welcome from the minute we drove up. Welcoming champagne and orange juice was a nice touch, not to mention the abundance of chocolates we received over the weekend. The view is gorgeous, overlooking Eagle Lake, and we spent some time in the hot tub enjoying the wonderful scenery. Both our breakfasts were delicious, and homemade (thank you Terri!) At night there is a huge tree that is all lit up with lights, that adds to the ambiance, welcoming you back. (We came back after the dinner theatre, which Terri also arranged for us.) This is truly a relaxing, and very romantic, getaway! 5 starr all the way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at Rocking R Guest Ranch. Simply put, we had an outstanding experience in every aspect. From the delicious breakfasts which Terri meticulously prepared to the spotless and comfortable cabins, we were spoiled with the attention to detail.

The cabins were very pleasant and I really loved the combination of rustic and modern design. This was complimented by a gorgeous view of Eagle Lake and a perfect sunset. Terri provided us with plenty of information for day-trips and other activities. We also enjoyed a horseback ride with Marvin taking the time to teach us a few things about riding.

Terri and Marvin were very accommodating to all of our needs and requests and I really admire the passion and effort they put into everything they do. We highly recommend Rocking R Guest Ranch to everybody who wants a quiet getaway with gorgeous landscapes, fantastic service and a terrific time!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family had a fantastic time at Rocking R Guest Ranch! Everything was done to perfection...the meals (absolutely delicious!), the cabins (immaculate, decor is great, everything you need for your stay), the hospitality, Marv teaching the kids to ride a horse, the campfires & marshmallows which the kids enjoyed. Terri's attention to detail is outstanding which includes providing pamphlets for our daily trip to Drumheller plus other activity ideas, catering to the kids (sundaes for dessert!), etc.

I would recommend the Rocking R in a heartbeat to all of my family & friends!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingr, Owner at Rocking R Guest Ranch, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your Girl's Getaway at the ranch. We can accomodate up to 8 gals if you want to expand your group next time. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I booked a holiday away from home for the first time in 10 years. It had been a very difficult year for us on a business level and also on a personal level with the loss of my brother. I have a love of animals and knew we would find peace and tranquility in nature and we are so thankful our internet search led us to Rocking R Guest Ranch. From the moment we drove up the lovely tree-lined driveway onto the ranch both my husband and I felt like we had just arrived home! Terri and Marvin were so welcoming, everything was spotless, the horses were in excellent condition and our accommodation was beyond anything I could have imagined with absolutely nothing missing. The views down to the lake each morning and evening combined with the horses munching in the field provided such a sense of peace. In fact, the ranch and our hosts were so great, we didn't want to leave for our other day trips. Good thing was that we got to come back to the ranch each evening. My husband does not ride all the time but immediately felt secure and safe on their horses during our outings with Marvin to the Badlands and the Rockies. Terri's lunches and breakfasts for these outings would rival any "gourmet chef"...... so incredibly delicious and well planned that I wished for a bigger appetite. We were sorry to leave the ranch for the rest of our visit to lovely Alberta but feel that we have made two wonderful friends in Marvin and Terri and can't thank them enough for making us feel so welcome and so special. So, superb service, superb accommodations, gorgeous views, wonderful location, variety of activity......wonderful hosts.....what more could anyone want?

Thank you Terri and Marvin!!

Room Tip: All accommodation at the ranch will be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vankleek Hill Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

When I googled "ranches in Alberta" the Rocking R Guest Ranch came up - how lucky for us! We travelled from Ontario to visit our son and we had the best weekend together. We stayed in the Bunkhouse cabin. Like all the other reviews, this place was perfect - squeaky clean, beautifully furnished, delicious gourmet breakfasts, hot tub, amazing views, peaceful surroundings, etc. The highlight for us was the 1 day Equestrian adventure to Kananaskis Country with Marvin and Rob. We have so many fun memories! Terri and Marvin provided us with outstanding western hospitality. We are recommending this ranch to our friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went to the Rocking R Ranch because every hotel room in Calgary was sold out for the Stampede. We were utterly blown away by the hospitality, the room, the cleanliness and the beauty of the ranch.
We were greeted with champagne, feasted on amazing breakfasts, given another bottle of wine the second night we stayed, given the run of the kitchen and the outside grounds and Terri made dinner reservations for us in a nearby bistro.
The horses are beautiful and friendly. The views of the Rockies in the distance and the lake were gorgeous.
I cannot recommend this Guest Ranch more strongly to everyone. Go and you will be highly impressed with the hostess, the value, and the memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocking R Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking R Guest Ranch

Address: Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6 , Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Strathmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocking R Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Calgary you will find luxurious cabins atop a ridge with a view of Eagle Lake and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The Hitch n' Post is a cozy cabin for two and The Bunkhouse is perfect for a family getaway. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. We also offer spa services in the privacy of your cabin and Equestrian Adventures for all levels of riders. Minimum Night stay at the ranch is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rocking R Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking R Guest Ranch Strathmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocking R Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.