We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible -the saddest place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greater Vancouver Zoo

Greater Vancouver Zoo
5048 264th Street, Aldergrove, British Columbia V4W 1N7, Canada
604.856.6825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Aldergrove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 500 animals (140 species) on 120 acres of land in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own wagons, roller blades, bikes, skateboards, and picnic lunches. Ride the miniature train, watch a variety of daily educational talks & feedings and be sure to catch one of the Birds of Prey presentations! The playground and large picnic areas are great for birthdays, company BBQ's, group events or family picnics. In the summer, spend a Night In The Wild as you camp overnight inside the Zoo, and be sure to sign up for one of our popular Junior Zoologist Day Camps! Since 1970, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is focused on enriching our guests experiences with entertaining enriching activities about the wonderful world of animals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“horrible -the saddest place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very expensive
Living conditions for the animals is dismal
Exploitation or sanctuary ?
Many of the animals, I learned after the fact, have died, some have been moved as the habitat is unsuitable to the extreme

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We appreciate our guests’ taking the time to post their concerns about their visit to the Greater Vancouver Zoo.
Home to over 500 animals in the beautiful Fraser Valley, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. Since 1970, the Zoo has been dedicated to preservation, conservation and the protection of endangered species. We engage visitors in recreational, educational and conservation-oriented activities about animals and the zoo environment, and promote respect for and connections with the natural world. We have ongoing conservation projects including the Oregon Spotted Frog Recovery Project, and through our Quarters for Conservation Program we're able to generate funds for supporting field conservation projects for endangered species.
The CAZA accreditation process takes place every five years (we went through our re-accreditation process last year in 2012) where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities.
Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums (CAZA) is a charitable organization dedicated to promoting the welfare of animals and encouraging the advancement and improvement of education, conservation and science. CAZA-accredited zoos and aquariums are dedicated to the highest standards of animal care. They nurture, protect and care for more than 100,000 animals representing over 2,000 species. Often these animals are the last remaining representatives of their species and survive with the help of zoo and aquarium endangered animal management programs.
Unlike many Zoo’s, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to run the Zoo. Our rates are continually reviewed to ensure that they're competitive with other attractions in the lower mainland.
We're continually making improvements and enhancements to the Zoo for our guests and animals. Recent improvements at the Zoo include: a North American Wilds walk through section, and the movement towards a paperless facility with the recent addition of 8 large map boards located throughout the Zoo.
Currently, we're nearing completion on a new Animal Care Center. The new building will house our animal quarantine (for new arrivals), hospital (for the treatment of sick and injured animals and minor surgery) and commissary facilities (food preparation and nutrition). The new facility will incorporate advanced technology that will enable more on-site treatment of animals with speed and accuracy which will reduce stress on the animals and staff alike.
We are also building a new lemur house (with a bigger area, that will offer better viewing in the winter through plexiglass), a perimeter road (this road will be designated for zoo vehicles as a means to get around the Zoo without disrupting public walkways), and new safety and barrier fences are being installed.
Thanks again for posting your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    80
    63
    41
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Way to Spend A Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I were looking for fun things to do with our 3 year old grandson, so we decided to visit the "Greater Vancouver Zoo" as it was close to home and looked interesting! We discovered that they had a seasonal "Family" package price which was exceptionally reasonable and included riding the "train" as often as you wanted to! Our grandson loves trains, and this was his highlight on every trip to the zoo, after we spent time visiting with the animals, which are all mostly up close and not at all shy! We would take a lunch and picnic some days, at the tables which are available throughout the park, and we would often have the local ducks, geese, swans, etc. floating past us which made lunchtime so much fun! Most days we managed to take the train trip around the park at least once, sometimes twice, and this soon became our favorite place to spend time during the Spring and Summer months! By the way, parking is included in the seasonal price...where else will you find such a deal? Truly a wonderful asset to the community!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Zoo so much. Zoo memberships offer great benefits, and truly are the best value. We can't wait for you to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I wish it were a better home for the animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

it's a small zoo, and having been to bigger zoos (Seattle and Portland) and seeing how much room the animals have there, it makes me sad for these animals. It's more like an exotic animal jail. They don't appear unhealthy and they do have a train that takes you around the property, but I wish the animals had a better environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We appreciate our guests' taking the time to post their concerns.
The Greater Vancouver Zoo is home to over 500 animals on 120 acres of land. Woodland Park Zoo (Seattle) is 187 acres with 1100 animals, and Oregon Zoo (Portland) is 64 acres with 2200 animals. In comparison to the Zoo's you mentioned, Oregon and Woodland Park, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is privately owned whereas Oregon and Woodland Park are public non-profits. They receive funding from the government, whereas the Greater Vancouver Zoo doesn't. We rely solely on admission rates to operate. All animals at the Greater Vancouver Zoo receive high standards of care, and have ample enclosure space.
Last summer, we went through our CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) re-accreditation. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities. CAZA-accredited zoos and aquariums are dedicated to the highest standards of animal care. They nurture, protect and care for more than 100,000 animals representing over 2000 species. Often these animals are the last remaining representatives of their species and survive with the help of zoo and aquarium endangered animal management programs.
We appreciate your feedback, and hope you will visit the Zoo again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A fun place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

THere will always be contraversy over having animals confined in a zoo. But for so many, it is the only way they will get a chance to see these wonderful creatures up close. The zoo is not one cage after another. Many of the enclosures are fields were the animals roam about. Yes there are many that are in cages, as well. There is a small train that will take you around the park, saves the legs on smaller members of the family. There is even a petting type area, again were younger ones can interact with some animals. Spring time is a favorit time as you get to see some of the new additions. If it has been raining, it can get a little muddy in areas. An excelent way to spend some family time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review. We're glad to here that you enjoy visiting the Zoo, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been to this zoo many times with my family since I was a little girl, even back when it was called the "game farm". Recently my sister and I did the behind the scenes with the big cats and it was awesome. The trainers really seem to love and take great care of their animals. The main reason I love this zoo so much is because most of their animals are rescues from idiot people who have taken these animals on as pets illegally and then (big surprise) could not take proper care of them. They are giving them the best life than can seeing as they cannot be released back into the wild.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We're glad to hear that you and your sister had a great time with our Behind the Scenes tour. They really are great experiences!
We hope to see you at the Zoo again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greater Vancouver Zoo also viewed

 
Aldergrove, Langley
Langley City, Langley
 

Been to Greater Vancouver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greater Vancouver Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.