We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is okay and service is bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Green Basil

Green Basil
4623 Kingsway, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 2B3, Canada (Marlborough)
604.439.1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 456 Restaurants in Burnaby
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marlborough
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food is okay and service is bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went to the Green Basil twice during my visit. The service was mediocre the first day. The food was so good that I looked past the service of the waitress. I came back a second day a few minutes before closing. The manager invited us in. At first I was happy that he accommodated us.
He then rushed us and we felt like we were being an annoyance. I told him that we would leave if there was a problem. I would have left but my friend wanted to stay. A couple came in after us. The staff was very rude to them.

The food on the second day was not as good. We were probably served leftovers. I would never go back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A good recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel i was staying at recommended this place when i asked where i could get some good Thai. I found the meals that i selected to be good Thai food. Not outstanding but good. Service was efficient with meals arriving very quickly. Staff were friendly enough. I would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't go there!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This place has no ambience, it's staff do the job but don't seem to be interested, the food is very mediocre at best, and it is not worth the money you pay for your meal. Don't have the green papaya salad or the pad thai. Both are awful. The curries are ok but boring.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food but POOR SERVICE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I work in that area of town and I have been eating lunch at this place for the past few years. So, I have almost tried everything on their lunch menu and I should say that the food quality is good. Specially, the lunch special menu is good with a nice variety of dishes and the prices are very good for the portion. But I have had not so good experience with the service. The owner and the staff are not friendly at all. After many times that I have been eating there, the guy knows me very well but barely smiles. The staff are always rushed and want to get the bill in front of you before you are finished with your food. Decor is good but there are too many tables and chairs in such a small place and it can be very noisy during lunch time. Dinner menu is quite pricey for thai restaurant in Burnaby.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Green Curry Chicken Mmmmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner at Green Basil after it was reended by my hotel and I was really in Y&E mood for a green curry. It was amazing! And, I quite liked the decor and service. Price was a tad high (cuz I've had green curry just as good that cost half the price), but with the decor and service and the great good - definitely worth every cent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Basil also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Green Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.