We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pear Tree Restaurant

The Pear Tree Restaurant
4120 E Hastings, Burnaby, British Columbia V5C 2J4, Canada (Willingdon Heights)
(604) 299-2772
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pear Tree Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 479 Restaurants in Burnaby
Price range: $16 - $60
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Willingdon Heights
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been going to the Pear Tree since it opened. The food is excellent and the staff are very knowledgeable about the menu. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    10
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Pear Tree is a wonderful restaurant with excellent service. It is a bit east of Vancouver in the city of Burnaby. The short drive is worth it. The chef/owner is talented, knowledgeable and approachable which makes for a unique dining experience. We not only enjoy our meals here but also benefit from local information about food and wine. It is not large so be sure to phone ahead for reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An adventure of tastes and eye candy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ours was a set menu with paired wines that were superbly chosen to fit each of 4 courses. Each course was filled with delectable and surprise tastes that worked well together. Also, artistic presentation. My favourites were the duck, risotto and scallops but everything was good. Oh yes, and Earl Grey Tea ice cream, how nice!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Exquisite taste, presentation and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been to pear tree twice and both experiences have been memorable. The sophisticated atmosphere belies the storefont location on a busy street. It's not inexpensive, but then you tend to get what you pay for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 28th anniversary at the Pear Tree on December 28th.
We love French cuisine and are lucky that the Pear Tree is not too far from home. This is a real gem in Burnaby. This is a small restaurant with an unassuming appearance, in fact I have driven past this location and have never noticed it. It is on the south east corner of Hastings and Gilmore,. The interior is compact and every table was full. The staff were wonderful from start to finish and the clientele are made to feel at home. No pretentiousness here. We dressed for the occasion, others were in dress casual and a couple actually wore jeans. I had the Caesar salad to start and had the scallops with risotto as my main. My husband had the scallop and risotto appetizer and the beef short ribs as his main. Both of our meals were cooked to perfection and had our taste buds dancing. Don't forget to save room for dessert. We were served brioche bread at the start of our meal and I enquired as to where I could purchase the bread, the restaurant surprised us with a mini loaf when we left; a very ice touch. We definitely will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pear Tree Restaurant also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to The Pear Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pear Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.