We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the Patio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hart House Restaurant

Hart House Restaurant
6664 Deer Lake Ave, Burnaby, British Columbia V6E 4H3, Canada
(604) 298-4278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hart House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 456 Restaurants in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Canada Way
Transit: 144 Metrotown or SFU on Deer Lake Avenue (25m) 123 Brentwood on Canada Way (100 m) Bonny's Taxi services the Burnaby area: Burnaby : 435 - 6655 or 434 - 8000 Capitol Hill : 299 - 6262 New Westminster : 526 - 1166 Coquitlam : 931 - 3333
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch on the Patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our recent anniversary at Hart House by having lunch on the patio. They were receptive on the phone to my request for a special table and upon arrival both the greeter and our waiter noted that it was our anniversary. The weather was spectacular and the patio, the view, the service and of course the food was great. Lot's of parking. A touch of history. 5 stars. Worth every penny. I have eaten at Hart House numerous times for business and pleasure for over 20 years and can't recall a bad experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    15
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“several time diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food is very good. Very nice selections on the menu. The servers do their job well. The old house that the restaurant is in is very inviting and from most seat you get a view of the lake.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have eaten brunch here several times. The food is well presented, service is excellent & the view is amazing of gardens & the lake beyond. The is outdoor seating in the garden area & heat lamps if it is a cooler evening. Many wedding parties take place here as well as special events.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service, interesting food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The building looks like a heritage home. Impressed with the mostly excellent service. Food ingredients were of very good quality. Interesting textures and flavours. I had the 3 course West Coast Menu. I chose the cod and my mom had the halibut. I found the halibut a little dry, but I always find halibut dry. Cooked veggies were crunchier than I like, but the combination of flavours and textures was a delight to the palate. Mom is a very picky eater and she ate everything on her main course plate! The decaf coffee was really good. I was worried it wasn't decaf. The restaurant sits just off a lake and the windows are open so could be drafty and there was a fly, but he went away. After dinner we walked around the restaurant and noticed their vegetable garden and the lake in the distance.

http://www.harthouserestaurant.com/

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Top notch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have dined here before and have always enjoyed our experience, whether as a couple or with friends and family. Service is always superb, food 5 star and atmosphere wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hart House Restaurant also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Hart House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hart House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.