We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy with lots of variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolis At Metrotown

Metropolis At Metrotown
4800 Kingsway, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4N2, Canada
+1 604.438.4715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 things to do in Burnaby
Attraction details
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very busy with lots of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hard to find parking with a rocket box, but generally a good experience. Lots of specialty shops and name brand stores. Be prepared to stay the day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I absolutely LOVE Metrotown which is in a nearby municipality of Vancouver,
easily reachable, and best of all, you can either drive there and get
all the FREE parking you need, or (I think better), just get on
what is called Skytrain and within 30 minutes or less, as you zip
along while watching some of the nicest scenery in the world,
you can arrive RIGHT at Metrotown.
From the Metrotown Skytrain Station, it is a short distance,
either walking down the stairs and over the overhead
walkway, or taking the elevator down to the street level.
(Skytrain travels above ground the entire distance from
Granville (the main street of Vancouver) right to Metrowon).

If you do take the elevator to street level, there's
a light, and ...follow the people!! They are all going
to Metrotown!!

However, there are two parts to Metrotown, and
the main part is either reached via the overhead
walkway, then going to your RIGHT (again,
90% of the people are going there!!), or
after you cross the street, you will see the
bus loop for Metrotown, and again, follow
the people. They are all headed there.

Once in Metrotown, there are areas of it.
This is one HUGE, mega place. And what's great,
is you COULD just wander around!! Shops galore.

I LOVE bookstores, do you? There is a huge Chapter's
bookstore there (they should PAY me for this!!, oh well!),
and a Starbucks also right in Chapter's which really lends
a fabulous ambience to the whole thing.

I could just wander around in Chapter's for a LONG time.
Then I'd get nothing done all day!! Oops!

There are grocery stores there, for example Superstore
which is super. It's cheaper than a lot of places,
so naturally, we love it.

One of the things I love is the obvious multiculturalism
displayed by the kinds of shops at Metrotown.
I just love the CHINESE herbal shop right outside
Superstore. They have really different kinds of things
and the people are most helpful. Again, great prices
for things there.

Obviously, there are clothes!! Shoes!! and Jewellery!
All that has gotten us hungry!

So, where to eat?

If you look up, you will see signs, and those
will lead you to the Food Court which is enormous.

I do understand there are BIGGER places in China,
Phillipines, but that's rather far to have to find bigger.
This, you will find quite big enough and what
a selection?

What do you like? Curry? Got it. Thai? Yes,
Chinese of various kinds, American, (how come there
aren't any Canadian??), Greek, Salads.

Sometimes I just love to go there for a 'time out',
and then I will visit Tim Horton's for a snack there,
and go read my book.

Certain times are busier, and as the population
is increasing in the Vancouver area, so there are
more people at the Food Court all the time.

But there's always room, because this is big place.

There are other smaller restaurants available also
within Metrotown. Maps will be available online.
And yes, you'd need a map because there
are 3 levels, and many wings to this area.

Having spent just a great part of a day there,
you might wish to visit the Visitor's kiosk for
Burnaby and pick up all kinds of free information,
beautiful pamphlets as souvenirs or information.

From there, I'd suggest making sure you still
have a credit left on your card! There are
often loads of bargains, but I hope you'll all
be a little careful and leave some buying
for next time.

Oh, one other little fun thing before we leave
Metrotown? Just before you leave going outside
where the bus loop is, (if you are taking skytrain),
there's a good Dollar shop (and actually a Giant
Dollar Shop is not far from there near Save-On Foods).
I would stick with this one or you will need a stretcher
to carry you home.

So, having had a marvellous time, we bid
adieu to ...Metrotown.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“awesome sales #1 stores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Huge mall with great selection. MAny fof the stores in the mega mall have their #1 store there with the best selection - so you don't have to travel anywhere else for the brands

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One stop shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Had everything we needed to buy for our trip in one place and so easy to get to with Skytrain.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big mall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is not just a mall, but a city. Just a few steps across a sky bridge from the skytrain, it is almost 500 stores and the largest in British Columbia. We found the best deals at Zellers. Be sure to try the food court.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolis At Metrotown also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Metropolis At Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolis At Metrotown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.