We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada (Maywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
1 review
“Good Location, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Didn't have a car so this was a great location across the street from the Skytrain. The room faced the Skytrain station so every few minutes a train was leaving the station, didn't bother us too much. The breakfast was good. The only complaint I have is the elevators are slow, the hotel didn't appear to be full, but we had to wait 2 to 4 minutes before either one came. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. During June, we were rebuilding one of our elevators, however, that work has been completed and we now have both elevators in service. I am sorry that you experienced a bit longer wait times, but you can now enjoy a newly rebuilt elevator on your next stay. Thank you for noting our great location, being right next to Metropolis at Metrotown Shopping Centre, and the Metrotown Skytrain station. With our free parking, there is no need to take your car to downtown Vancouver when it is only a 15-minute rapid transit ride away. Combine our location with free wireless and free breakfast, and we think we're the best value for accommodation in the Vancouver area. We hope to see you again when you vist the next time.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
49
37
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Metrotown Holiday Inn is conveniently located next to a big shopping mall and just in front of a Skytrain station, which makes the hotel also usable to explore downtown Vancouver. It will save you some money as the price of a night sleep is much lower than most of the hotels downtown.
The residential area of Burnaby where the hotel is located, is nice to take a walk, especially with the Central Park nearby.
As there are major constructions ongoing next to the hotel, the garage of the hotel was not available but they solved this properly by offering a complementary valet service.
We spend 2 nights during the weekend, which kept the noise from outside activities in the morning relatively low but it might be different during the week when construction works continue.
It’s worthwhile to ask for a room at the back side as the Skytrain is entering the elevated station with a very high frequency. It’s convenient but also quite noisy.
They are currently renovating the hotel as well. Given the materials used in the renovated elevator and the decoration of the 3rd floor (access to pool & fitness), it will be a major step forward once completely done.
Breakfast is not really sophisticated but very tasty and it comes with everything you need. The breakfast room can be pretty crowded and hopefully it’s also still in the renovation planning.
In summary, the Metrotown Holiday Inn offers good value for its price and if you don’t mind the 20 minute ride on the Skytrain, it’s a good choice to visit Vancouver as a tourist as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I appreciate your review of your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned, we are completely renovating all of our guestrooms at this time. We are doing it in small phases, so that it does not affect our guests' stay. We expect to be finished in the next 6 weeks when all of our guests can enjoy a refreshed room. One of our elevators has been completely re-built, and the next one will follow in the fall of this year. The mall adjacent to us will be completing their renovation in the fall as well, so construction around the hotel will slow considerably. There is a lot of residential construction in Burnaby, as it is a popular area. Thank you for mentioning our free breakfast. It makes staying with us an even better value. Our underground parking lot is open once again, and we do offer free parking.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF BAY AREA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We like the Holiday Inn Hotel Chain and stay there in almost every City we travel in. This was a good location away from the expensive Downtown Vancouver, but a quick train ride to most places. It is also next to the Metrotown shopping plaza. We enjoyed this location, but trying to get to Vancouver by car from here was a bit tedious because of traffic. Easier on the train if you can walk everywhere from your destination or take a cab.

Also, this place has a lot of construction going on in and around it, so the noise at 8:15am (jackhammer) is very annoying and well, crappy. I would not stay here again as long as they are under construction. Not the hotel's fault, but my recommendation is perhaps they can tell construction crews to start their JACK HAMMERING at 9am when we are getting up anyway. Also on our floor (3rd) it was very noisy as it seemed that crews were using this floor to access their work areas. But I liked this floor because it has the pool and laundry room and one floor above the free Breakfast room.

The Hotel did accommodate us with valet parking our rental car when the garage was closed down for work. The valet was fast and very courteous. I am glad that the hotel at least did this to help their guests who had cars.

But overall, it is a decent hotel. The staff was good and the property inside was good. I would NOT stay here again during the construction..it was just too stressful and that is why I gave this property 3 stars because I think a bit more could be done to make sure the guests are more comfortable at night and in the morning. Just *average*.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. It is true that there is a lot of building going on in our area. The mall directly around us is renovating, and while most of the demolition work is complete, there are some days when there is some noise. It is not consistent or constant, and it is restricted to between 8 am and 5 pm Monday to Friday. This portion of the construction should be complete very soon, and I am sorry that it affected your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our guest service. That is what we strive for, and we all do really care about making your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again when you next travel to our area. Linda Griffths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I'll start with the bad first: the hotel is going through some major renovations and there is construction all over. It had them down to one elevator, so sometimes you'd wait an eternity to get to your room.
Everything else was great. Karina and Myra were the two desk staff that I saw most often due to my work schedule, and both were extremely friendly and helpful. The kind of friendly you should experience in a hotel. Personable and talkative, but very professional at all times. They were always eager to help or give recommendations for food in the area.
The mall is right next door and soo is the bus depot and skytrain station. I had a car, but if you didnt you could get anywhere in BC from4om this place. Also tons of great food options all walkable from the hotel.
Id recommend this hotelcto anyone going to the Burnaby area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay. We really appreciate when guests who have had a great stay let others know about their experience. We are currently rebuilding one of our elevators, but it will be back in service within the next week, so that will help with the elevator wait times. The Metrotown area of Burnaby is certainly a busy place for building right now, and the mall adjacent to us is in the final stages of their major renovation. We hope to see everything back to normal within a few months. We are still one of the best locations in the Vancouver area, with great transportation and BC's largest shopping and entertainment complex right beside us. We hope to see you again when you are next in our area. Best Regards, Linda Griffiths - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The price point is right for an older hotel with a major construction development going on next door.
If you don't plan on sleeping in or choose a high floor you will be just fine. Free breakfast and free wifi always a plus.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the opposite side from the construction project.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. While our hotel has been in the Metrotown area for over 20 years, it was completely renovated during 2006/2007, and we are embarking on another renovation beginning in just a few weeks. We will be completely renovating all of our guestrooms, including new furniture, draperies, seating, wallcoverings, and carpeting. We have already completed renovations to our meeting rooms, fitness centre, and breakfast room. We are located directly beside Metropolis at Metrotown and right across from the Metrotown Skytain station, making downtown Vancouver just a 15 minute ride away. Combine our great location with free breakfast, free wireless internet, and free parking and we think we have the right combination to give the best accommodation value. There are some construction projects ongoing around us, however, any noise from those projects is intermittent, and limited to between 8 am and 5 pm.

We hope to see you again when you next stay in our area.

Best Regards, Linda Griffiths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Think twice before you book this hotel. Their cancellation policy is a trap . Be careful of the fine print written as:
- If you change or cancel your booking after 6:00 PM, 21/08 ((GMT-08:00) Pacific Time (US & Canada); Tijuana) you will be charged for 1 night (including tax)
• If you change or cancel your booking on or before 6:00 PM, 21/08 ((GMT-08:00) Pacific Time (US & Canada); Tijuana) you will be charged for 1 night (including tax)
One clause covers after the date and other covers on or before the date. This cancellation policy is as good as no cancellation is allowed

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your stay more than 7 months ago. Our website offers many different rates, as do most hotels. You can choose a rate with no cancellation penalties, or you can choose a more discounted rate. Normally, the greater the discount, the greater the restrictions. The rate you describe is our Smart Saver rate - You receive a discount on all nights of your proposed stay, however, there is a one-night advance deposit required that is non-refundable. Many hotels have the same types of rates.

We always offer a rate that is easily cancelled without penalties. The rate restrictions are very clear on our website, they are repeated before you choose to purchase, and should you not want to agree to those restrictions, there is always a chance to back out of the process before you finalize your reservation.

Perhaps in future, you might want to choose a rate that has fewer restrictions so you won't be disappointed if your travel plans change. I am sorry that your travel plans changed and that your were not happy with the terms and conditions of the rate you chose.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlell, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had to stay here for work travel. It was the only place not close to any late night restaurants, I swear. Standard room and service, no balconies though. Surrounded by a concrete jungle. I think it's partially in a mall. Convenient for bus routes.

Room Tip: If you can find one with an opeining window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I'm surprised that you did not find one of the dozens of restaurants directly around our hotel. We have a list of them at the front desk for you, as well as many delivery menus to suit every taste. We are located in the most popular area of Burnaby - Metrotown. There are 3 major office towers, as well as many residential towers. We are directly adjacent to the largest shopping and entertainment complex in BC, and directly across from the Metrotown Skytrain station, making downtown Vancouver a short 15 minute ride away on rapid transit.

We hope to see you again when your travels next bring you to our area.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Address: 4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated hotel, guestrooms, conference space and all public space. The Burnaby Hotel 18 min to downtown, BC Place, Rogers Arena & Vancouver Convention Centre by Skytrain. Connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. The hotel also offers complementary full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. The location is ideal for leisure and corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations also close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. The hotel offers conference space with natural light, the Fraser Ballroom can accommodate upto 150 for a sitdown dinner with outdoor terraces as well as a boardroom for upto 10 guests. Full service catering and A/V equipment. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.