We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front end staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4405 Central Blvd., Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada (Maywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Burnaby
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great front end staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had to make a business trip and thought the Holiday Inn Express Burnaby would be central. It was so that was good. Construction continues and lots of loud banging and hammering going on during the day..not nice. Returned around 4:00 and room wasn't cleaned yet. I am sure they were busy so have to take that into consideration. Talked to several of the cleaning staff and they were very pleasant. The rooms are small and tight and expensive for what you got. (A view that looked like a news report in some bombed out country.) Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Staff there were friendly. Andy was one of the front end staff that was very helpful when I had to extend our stay. The problem in Burnaby Metrotown area is there isn't a lot of choices in hotels and it irks me to pay that much for a small room especially when there was nothing major going on in town.

Room Tip: The upper floors are renovated which makes them nicer but pricier.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you found that our team members provided great service for you. I am sorry that your room was not serviced earlier in the day, and if you do stay with us again, just request an early service and we will take care of that for you. Our housekeeping department does work until 4.30 pm, but we are happy to accommodate anyone who needs early service. As you mentioned, there is construction around us, however, it is limited to 8 pm to 5 pm, and we expect it will be complete in the next 8 months. Metrotown is a very busy area with a lot of business travellers. When the Vancouver area is busy, most of the hotel rooms in our area will be full. That certainly does affect our rates. We do have Advance Purchase rates on our website that are quite reasonable, and if you travel plans are firm, that is a great way to get a good discount. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in the Vancouver Metrotown area.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    29
    9
    10
See reviews for
39
32
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family has stayed here three times this past year and plan on returning!
Located next to Metrotown Shopping Centre and directly across from the sky train station, we found this location convenient for concerts and events as the sky train drops us off in front of Rogers Arena, BC Place and many other downtown venues without the hefty price of parking and the hike in hotel prices. There is free parking at the hotel for when we do take our vehicle.
The rooms are spacious and clean, there is a fridge as well.
This hotel also has a nice outdoor pool though we didn't use it. Check in was at 3pm and each time we came the room wasn't ready until 3 pm so we just popped over to the mall next door, and they held our bags for us. There is a free breakfast in the morning ( only accessible by elevator) but on our last visit the pancake machine wasn't working. This was the only time I encountered a rude staff member, when I pointed it out, she said I didn't push the right button. As she walked away the machine stopped and a warning message came on to replace a part, I called her back to show her, and to prove it wasn't my fault, and she just said its broken and walked away. No effort to put an out of order sign and we saw the line up grow with others trying to work it. The rest of the breaky was ok, scrambled eggs, cold sausages and lots of white bread as they ran out of whole wheat. This was on our last stay there, the other 2 times were better, but Ihop is just down the street.
As a Priority Club member we did get a package of snacks and a water bottle on check in so that was nice. Hoping it was just a bad day for breaky and its fixed up next time we go

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am very sorry our breakfast bar hostess was not more informative and apologetic when there was an issue with the pancake machine in our breakfast bar. I will definitely have a coaching session with her to discuss how we should handle any occasional problems that occur with the equipment. Please accept my most sincere apology, and my assurance that this is not to our normal standard, as you experienced with all of our other great staff members. Thank you for sharing your experience, and how convenient and comfortable you found our hotel. I really appreciate your comments.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierson, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Has the capability of being a really good hotel, but not there yet. Renovations taking place and massive construction around hotel make this a place to skip right now. This is an older hotel that is being rejuvenated. Close to the mall and mass transit station but that's all really this place can offer

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. The mall adjacent to us is undergoing renovations right now, however, they will be over in the next 8 months and there will be a lot of new retailers and restaurants when they re-open. It does not make for the best view right now, but the renovated mall will be a welcome addition to the neighborhood. We are also taking this time to renovate a lot of our hotel areas. We've already completed the breakfast room and fitness room, with our meeting rooms underway, and to be finished in the next 4 weeks. We will then embark on a complete renovation to all of our guestrooms and our lobby. We expect those renovations to be complete in early 2014. The room renovations will be furniture and decor changes that will not include any noisy construction, so that will not impact our guests' stay. We are located in the central Burnaby business district, adjacent to the largest shopping and entertainment complex in the province. Being directly across from the Metrotown Skytrain station provides very convenient and rapid access to downtown Vancouver, BC Place Statium and Rogers Arena. Combine our location with free parking, free breakfast and free wireless, and we believe we're the best value in the Vancouver Metrotown area. We hope that when you visit our area again, we can offer you our comfortable accommodations.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location next to the huge Metropolis Mall and city bus terminal, and Skytrain stop. Very good free breakfast. Clean, modern rooms with fridge and microwave and large bathrooms. The price was right. Will stay here again on my next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be everything you needed for a stay in the Vancouver area. Being outside of the downtown core, but easily accessed by rapid transit, makes our rates great value. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's very reasonably priced, but no frills or extras. The bed was lumpy and I woke up multiple times because I was uncomfortable. As well, really fragrant laundry detergent is used and pillows smelled really strongly of the perfume scent. Having a free hot breakfast is great, but another egg option would have been nice. We all look the egg meal that had items folded into it, but it had an odd taste to it and most of us put it aside. We couldn't have asked a staff member about it, as none came into the dining area during our visit.

On the upside, it is next to Metrotown and Skytrain and convenient for bus riders.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good sleep. We have equipped all of our rooms with Simmons Beautyrest sleep sets, and the majority of our guests really enjoy their sleep with us. Our sleep sets are only 5 or 6 years old, so they are fairly new. They are a pillow top model, so perhaps this was not comfortable for you. For that, we are very sorry. With regard to our Breakfast Bar, we do offer scrambled eggs on some days in our breakfast bar, and a variety of omeletes on other days. If there are no scrambled eggs when you stay with us, please feel free to ask one of our staff members, and they would be happy to make some up for you. We have our breakfast bar staffed every day, and if they are not evident in the great room, they are in the pantry beside the breakfast bar preparing items for the buffet, but always available to help.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Greeted by very friendly hotel staff - very accommodating and very late night check in was not a problem. IHG Platinum upgraded from standard king room to executive (top floor) room - also got a bottle of water and some rice crackers.

Pool was simple, but heated and nice. The floor the pool was on was quite dilapidated, both bathrooms were closed for renovations. Breakfast buffet was nice - standard fare (good food, pancake maker). No seating available on the day we stayed (back to school rush) so we had breakfast in bed.

Room was simple, but spacious. Towels are getting worn, nice flat panel TV. Minor musty smell from air conditioner.

Late check out was requested (told we could leave at 130 PM), but somebody still called us at noon anyway.

The hotel rating on their website is probably high because they were 'encouraging' 10/10 reviews by offering 1000 IHG points in return - kind of classless.

Overall - decent hotel, but at its full price ($150 / night), I would say the value just isn't there compared to other hotels. The location is nice - it's right next to the skytrain station - but Burnaby is a long ways away if you're in town for concerts, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, and assure you that our local promotion for IHG Rewards Club members is about encouraging feedback while our guests are at our hotel. We really appreciate the opportunity to address any issues with our guests' stay before they leave the hotel. We are committed to ensuring that we do everything we can to make all of our guests' stays as comfortable as possible.

You will be happy to know that we are currently renovating our 3rd floor meeting room area, including the public washrooms, and that we will continue to improve our property with a complete refresh of every room beginning later this year.

We hope to welcome you again when you next need to stay in our area.


Best Regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORANGEVILLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here twice during our vacation for a total of 7 nights. The hotel was clean and both our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and courteous and helped us out whenever needed. The location was perfect for our Vancouver vacation, being a short drive away from downtown Vancouver and right next to a bus station and the sky train. There is also a huge shopping mall (metropolis at metrotown) right next door and lots of great restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. I have mobility issues and had rented a mobility scooter for the trip, which was delivered to the hotel before our arrival and picked up after we checked-out. The hotel had it charging in the lobby near the front desk when we arrived. They let me park it and charge it there overnight & whenever needed. The hotel had a nice heated pool and exercise room, free underground parking, free wifi internet and a free breakfast which had a great selection to start our busy day of sightseeing. The whole family really enjoyed the our stay here and it was perfect for our family vacation. Thanks for helping us have a great vacation!!
Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy to accommodate any special requests that we can assist with, and are happy that we could provide a spot to charge your scooter while you were here. We really appreciate your review and letting others know that you enjoyed our hotel, our services and our location. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Address: 4405 Central Blvd., Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnaby Hotel near Vancouver is connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. Our direct connection to the Metrotown Skytrain Station means easy access to Rogers Arena & BC Place in Vancouver, Canada. The hotel also offers complementary to all guests a full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. Our hotel's location is ideal for corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. For meetings, we have ballrooms to boardrooms, with catering and A/V equipment. Leisure visitors to Vancouver and Burnaby love our hotel's direct access to SkyTrain and the attractions in Vancouver, such as the Capilano Suspension Bridge, Gastown and Stanley Park, are minutes away. You can get to the BC Ferries, cruise ship terminals and the 2010 Winter Olympic venues easily. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.