We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4405 Central Blvd., Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada (Maywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
Honolulu
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Practical Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location next to the huge Metropolis Mall and city bus terminal, and Skytrain stop. Very good free breakfast. Clean, modern rooms with fridge and microwave and large bathrooms. The price was right. Will stay here again on my next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be everything you needed for a stay in the Vancouver area. Being outside of the downtown core, but easily accessed by rapid transit, makes our rates great value. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
45
34
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's very reasonably priced, but no frills or extras. The bed was lumpy and I woke up multiple times because I was uncomfortable. As well, really fragrant laundry detergent is used and pillows smelled really strongly of the perfume scent. Having a free hot breakfast is great, but another egg option would have been nice. We all look the egg meal that had items folded into it, but it had an odd taste to it and most of us put it aside. We couldn't have asked a staff member about it, as none came into the dining area during our visit.

On the upside, it is next to Metrotown and Skytrain and convenient for bus riders.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good sleep. We have equipped all of our rooms with Simmons Beautyrest sleep sets, and the majority of our guests really enjoy their sleep with us. Our sleep sets are only 5 or 6 years old, so they are fairly new. They are a pillow top model, so perhaps this was not comfortable for you. For that, we are very sorry. With regard to our Breakfast Bar, we do offer scrambled eggs on some days in our breakfast bar, and a variety of omeletes on other days. If there are no scrambled eggs when you stay with us, please feel free to ask one of our staff members, and they would be happy to make some up for you. We have our breakfast bar staffed every day, and if they are not evident in the great room, they are in the pantry beside the breakfast bar preparing items for the buffet, but always available to help.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Greeted by very friendly hotel staff - very accommodating and very late night check in was not a problem. IHG Platinum upgraded from standard king room to executive (top floor) room - also got a bottle of water and some rice crackers.

Pool was simple, but heated and nice. The floor the pool was on was quite dilapidated, both bathrooms were closed for renovations. Breakfast buffet was nice - standard fare (good food, pancake maker). No seating available on the day we stayed (back to school rush) so we had breakfast in bed.

Room was simple, but spacious. Towels are getting worn, nice flat panel TV. Minor musty smell from air conditioner.

Late check out was requested (told we could leave at 130 PM), but somebody still called us at noon anyway.

The hotel rating on their website is probably high because they were 'encouraging' 10/10 reviews by offering 1000 IHG points in return - kind of classless.

Overall - decent hotel, but at its full price ($150 / night), I would say the value just isn't there compared to other hotels. The location is nice - it's right next to the skytrain station - but Burnaby is a long ways away if you're in town for concerts, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, and assure you that our local promotion for IHG Rewards Club members is about encouraging feedback while our guests are at our hotel. We really appreciate the opportunity to address any issues with our guests' stay before they leave the hotel. We are committed to ensuring that we do everything we can to make all of our guests' stays as comfortable as possible.

You will be happy to know that we are currently renovating our 3rd floor meeting room area, including the public washrooms, and that we will continue to improve our property with a complete refresh of every room beginning later this year.

We hope to welcome you again when you next need to stay in our area.


Best Regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORANGEVILLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here twice during our vacation for a total of 7 nights. The hotel was clean and both our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and courteous and helped us out whenever needed. The location was perfect for our Vancouver vacation, being a short drive away from downtown Vancouver and right next to a bus station and the sky train. There is also a huge shopping mall (metropolis at metrotown) right next door and lots of great restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. I have mobility issues and had rented a mobility scooter for the trip, which was delivered to the hotel before our arrival and picked up after we checked-out. The hotel had it charging in the lobby near the front desk when we arrived. They let me park it and charge it there overnight & whenever needed. The hotel had a nice heated pool and exercise room, free underground parking, free wifi internet and a free breakfast which had a great selection to start our busy day of sightseeing. The whole family really enjoyed the our stay here and it was perfect for our family vacation. Thanks for helping us have a great vacation!!
Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy to accommodate any special requests that we can assist with, and are happy that we could provide a spot to charge your scooter while you were here. We really appreciate your review and letting others know that you enjoyed our hotel, our services and our location. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked this hotel for a business trip. I tried to cancel about three days after I booked and aprox 3 weeks before I was to travel. Apparently when I booked the rate I got was that I paid in advance. NOT a deposit like most hotels. I explained that my business trip had changed but the response was no cancellations!!! Under no circumstances could I receive a refund.
I would ask anybody looking to book with this property to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are sorry that you chose a non-refundable rate when you made your reservation. It is the lowest rate available at any Intercontinental Hotels Group hotel, however, it does have the highest restrictions. There are other rates available that do not have any restrictions, or fewer restrictions, however, you did not choose one of those rates.

Our non-refundable rates were developed by our brand, and are mandated to each hotel. Our hotel did not create the rate or the restrictions, that is done by our brand. At our hotel, we do offer guests the option to keep the credit on file for 3 months and use it at our hotel on a future visit. I am sorry that you did not want to take advantage of this offer.

We hope that in future that if you choose to stay at one of the IHG hotels around the world, that you choose a rate that more closely matches your needs with respect to cancellations and refunds.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our first time in BC, and we depended on Tripadvisor to help us choose a place to stay. We will definitely stay here again! It is located right across the street from the Sky Line Metro train, and is in walking distance to a few restaurants and a giant mall, which meant we did not have to use our car at all for the two days we stayed. The room was very nice and roomy, the bed was comfy and we had a very nice stay. We did not use the pool, but it looked pretty nice, outdoors on an upper floor. The breakfast was pretty good, too. When we do stay again, I will ask for a room on the pool side. Otherwise, you're just facing construction.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We really appreciate when guests enjoy their stay and let others know about it. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are next in our area.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There is construction going on across the street and next store while we were there but we didn't hear anything and there were no problems.

The property is right across the street from the metrotown station for the skytrain which was very convenient. If you are taking a cruise to/from Canada Place just hop on the sky train for about 8 stops until you get to metrotown station. Very convenient and inexpensive. We took a taxi to the Canada Place and spent about $45 including tip. Sky Train back was less than $10.

There is a large mall right next store with a grocery store inside it. Very Convenient

The hotel was very nice and included a nice breakfast bar on the 2nd floor. The heated pool on the 3rd floor was nice but didn't have a hot tub.

The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were good size. The internet connection was solid as well.

The office staff was extremely helpful. Especially Lina and Tess.

The only change I would make at the hotel is a new elevator. The elevator has to be one of the slowest ones I was ever on. Other than that very happy with the property

If you going on a cruise and don't want to spend the big bucks staying downtown, consider the Holiday Inn Express Burnaby. I know I will if we go on an Alaskan Cruise from Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! I really appreciate it when guests have enjoyed their stay and take the time to let others know about it.

I appreciate your comments about the elevator as well. While there certainly is more demand at peak periods on our elevators during the summer with families travelling, we are also upgrading our elevators this winter. On your next trip here I'm sure you'll find them to your liking.

Thank you again for your response, and we look forward to having you stay with us again when you visit our area.

Regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Address: 4405 Central Blvd., Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnaby Hotel near Vancouver is connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. Our direct connection to the Metrotown Skytrain Station means easy access to Rogers Arena & BC Place in Vancouver, Canada. The hotel also offers complementary to all guests a full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. Our hotel's location is ideal for corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. For meetings, we have ballrooms to boardrooms, with catering and A/V equipment. Leisure visitors to Vancouver and Burnaby love our hotel's direct access to SkyTrain and the attractions in Vancouver, such as the Capilano Suspension Bridge, Gastown and Stanley Park, are minutes away. You can get to the BC Ferries, cruise ship terminals and the 2010 Winter Olympic venues easily. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.