We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-room alarms and cleanness offset the convenience.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada (Maywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In-room alarms and cleanness offset the convenience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Its location has pros and cons. Pros: short walk to Skytrain station, bus loop, Metrotown and many restaurants, Cons: NOISY from Skytrain operations starting early morning almost whole day. Guest room is comparably smaller than other HIE, bathroom was nicely arranged however cleanness on the tile floor was unacceptable with smell and visible stains in grouts never got cleaned by rushy housekeeping during week stay. BEWARE: construction works right next door starting from 8 to even after 4, also their in room alarm is extremely sensitive that triggered by streams from showers or using hot water almost daily and also the noises from constructions. You'll hear alarms from other rooms as well.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. While tere is some construction in the area, the work is confined to 8 am to 5 pm. We will investigate to see if perhaps you advised us at the desk about the smoke alarm in your room. We can see if the unit requires replacing, as having a smoke alarm go off during a shower is not our normal standard. Our housekeeping is normally excellent, as you can see from other reviews. I am very surprised that you did not find it to your liking. I hope that if you do visit our area again, you choose to stay with us again so that we can offer you our warm hospitality and a comfortable stay.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
49
37
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on a 4 day visit to Vancouver, mainly because I like shopping and it seems Metrotown is the best place to do all of that. Secondly is because of all the transport links. Having a sky train station next door was incredibly handy also. The hotel looks rather modern, almost hidden by the amount of construction work that is going on in the area. Hotel staff at reception were very helpful, there was a bit of a problem with my card but it was sorted in the end. I was astonished to hear that the hotel has a swimming pool, considering the Holiday Inn Express brand is the most basic of the H.I group and others that I've visited have only the basics, i.e. bed and breakfast. The room was about average size from what one would expect from an Express. Nice fully equipped bathroom and shower, bed was nice and comfortable but may have been a bit too soft. A fridge and a microwave, again something I'm not used to from an Express. They seemed to work quite easily although it took me a while to figure out how to use the microwave as all the controls are different and confusing. Breakfast was quite nice, had a better selection from other Express' I've been at. Not sure if people are able to take back to their room because it gets quite busy before 8am. I had no idea at building work started so early next door, my fault for not reading the big sign in the reception area with the warning. All in all, a very pleasant stay and will definitely consider staying again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a great location to stay in the Vancouver area. Because you are out of the downtown area, the rates are extremely reasonable and you are across the street from the Burnaby SkyTrain station. We spent 2 nights here after arriving from an Alaskan cruise. Bought day passes for the transportation system that includes SkyTrain (access to airport and cruise ship dock), buses and ferry to North Vancouver. The system is very easy to navigate and we got where we wanted efficiently and without the hassle of a car. Believe me, I would avoid a car in this city if you can. The Holiday Inn is a great place to stay to make this all work. There is construction (destruction as of 6/19/13) but limited to weekdays during the day. Noise was not a problem. The motel is adjacent to a large upscale shopping mall, MetroTown, for all of your shopping needs. The room was great, bed comfortable and predictable breakfast. Everything was clean and public areas were well kept. Staff was very helpful with directions etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late may of 2013 for 4 nights. Room 401. The location was fantastic. Across the street from the skytrain and next to metrotown mall. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the beds were extremely comfortable and I slept well.The housekeeping staff was very helpful and friendly as were the front desk staff. Its true there is a bit of noise from outside but no more than I would have expected from such a busy location and it did not keep me from sleeping what so ever! If we're in burnaby again I would most certainly stay at the holiday inn Metrotown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Will Make this very short ..great to be by metro town..but the noise was terrible no sleep at all..complained nothing was done about it..never told us this issue...never again ..the staff was not the greatest either. I always stay down town Vancouver sky train to metro 15 mins worth staying downtown Vancouver ..

Room Tip: pay a little xtra and go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I am very sorry that you were bothered by noise during your stay. There is construction in our area, and particularly, a demolition that is going on for a brief period in our area. We have put a notice on our website advising that there may be construction noise from 8 am to 5 pm Monday to Saturday. I am sorry that you did not see this notice so that you were prepared before your arrival. We also have a notice in our lobby about the construction in the area.

Unfortunately, we have no control over when construction or demolition will take place in our neighbourhood. We have worked with the surrounding properties to ascertain when noise is likely to occur, and to advise our guests. Also, the construction noise is not consistent. Some days, there may be audible noise for a few hours, and some days there is no noise. In any event, it does not start before 8 am and finishes at 5 pm each day.

Everyone at this hotel strives to do the best we can and to control what we can. We are very sorry that you were less than comfortable during your stay with us. We hope that if you do decide to stay in our area again, you will let us know so that we can discuss what activities are going on nearby so that you can be completely comfortable.

Best Regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I always stay here when I travel to Burnaby on business. The location is great - right in the center of Metrotown and several restaurants. While I usually rent a car and enjoy the free parking, the Skytrain station is right across the street so you can take the train from the airport. Service is good, rooms are nice and clean, free breakfast is decent - I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 623 has 2 outdoor decks that give a nice view of the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that they thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in our area.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great area! Quick access to the Mall and SkyTrain. Surprisingly, the noise from the SkyTrain is hardly noticeable from the guest rooms. The bathroom is large and the room layout is spacious. While the pool is a great aspect to this hotel; the newly renovated gym could do with some work. There are no free wieghts of any kind - only a treadmill, elliptical, and a multi-use gym. Also, although the breakfast was included, i found myself eating at the A&W down the street. The breakfast was definately something I would like to forget.

Although there were many great attributes to this hotel in sense of comfort, they were all over shadowed by the cleanliness of the room. The morning after our first night, I had noticed blood on the shower curtin while having my shower. We then noticed that there was also a large amount of blood on one of the bed skirts and the floor below. As we were in a rush to work, stopped by the desk in the late afternoon. Desk staff did not offer to move. instead took the skirt off, exchanged the shower curtain, but left the floor stain while we went for dinner.

Would have been nice to move, or to have recieved a call confirming we were satisfied with what had been done. Had to ask again the next morning if they had sanitized the stain or not.

This is obviously an isolated incident; however, I wish the staff had handled it better. Not sure of too many people who would want to stay in a room that had these problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the oversight on properly servicing your room. This is, as you say, an isolated incident and I assure you this is not to our normal standard.

I am also concerned that you did not enjoy our breakfast. Most of our guests find something quite pleasing from our menu of freshly made pancakes, scrambled eggs or omelets, bacon, or sausage, warm cinnamon rolls, assorted muffins and breakfast pastries, yoghurt and a selection of cold and warm cereals.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again when you are next in our area so that you can see what many other travelers experience again and again - our warm, friendly service and clean, comfortable rooms in one of the lower mainland's most convenient locations.

Regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Address: 4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated hotel, guestrooms, conference space and all public space. The Burnaby Hotel 18 min to downtown, BC Place, Rogers Arena & Vancouver Convention Centre by Skytrain. Connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. The hotel also offers complementary full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. The location is ideal for leisure and corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations also close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. The hotel offers conference space with natural light, the Fraser Ballroom can accommodate upto 150 for a sitdown dinner with outdoor terraces as well as a boardroom for upto 10 guests. Full service catering and A/V equipment. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.