We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Average, Clean Hotel plus a Casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Dominion St, Burnaby, British Columbia V5G 1C7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Better than Average, Clean Hotel plus a Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed at the Delta Hotel in Burnaby, which is part of a casino complex. I was not able to use the casino but a fellow traveler did and indicated that it was clean and smoke free, with lots of nickel and penny slots! The hotel itself is very clean and the staff is efficient. The rooms are clean and new. The only downside to the room is that it’s fairly sparse with one corner oddly having no pictures, lamps or chairs. It’s just empty. Weird. The rooms are your average small hotel room. There’s a nice flat screen TV, ironing board, desk and chair. There’s wired internet but it costs about $10 per day. The hotel is very quiet, but because it’s configured as a tower, each floor has about 5 rooms, each fairly close to the elevator. So when you’re A/C is not on and not creating ‘white noise’, you can hear the elevators ringing. There’s a health room that has tread mills, a weight machine, towels. There’s also a spa in the hotel. Despite being on the 14th floor, the elevators are very quick and I never had to wait more than 10 seconds for one. To access floors above 3 you have to insert your room card. Each morning you receive a newspaper in a “green” bag (rather than a plastic back that you throw away). Nice idea.

One irritating thing in the room is that the window drapes do not block all of the light. Light leaks around the top, sides and bottom. This would not matter except the rooms in the tower face the front of the hotel, and there are bright spotlights pointing up toward your window at night. So, I tried to block the edges with pillows, and used a chair to force the drapes against the gaps. There’s a thermostat and the A/C works very well.

There’s a very nice restaurant called Edo (or something like that) that serves a very good breakfast for a reasonable cost, including a continental breakfast. There’s free parking outside of the hotel or you can use the casino parking. Each morning there was a line of taxi’s waiting to drive people to their destinations. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The lobby is nicely apportioned with a Starbucks right there. There’s a snack shop just off of the lobby and a business center.

If you’re thinking about staying here because it’s near Vancouver, keep in mind that during rush hour Vancouver traffic is terrible. During light traffic, you’re about 25 mins from Vancouver downtown. During heavy traffic, it could be 45 mins.

This hotel is very much like a Marriott Courtyard, but not quite as apportioned (meaning, the room is a little more sparse).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    95
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
65
14
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed here in late July 2009. This property has recently re-opened after an extensive top to bottom renovation along with the adjacent Casino. This property used to be a very mediocre property a few years ago...but after being closed for a few years and extensively redone...I am impressed with the renovations. Keep in mind that the rooms are still the same size and do not have any balconies, but the entire hotel has a fresh look.

From the moment you arive, the lobby has an inviting new look (open glass elevator to casino, starbucks in lobby, fresh flowers, etc). Check in was quick and the staff was well informed about the hotel's features.

Parking is FREE...for now. That is a huge bonus, especially since so many hotels now see parking as an extra revenue source.

I stayed on the 18th floor (one floor away from the 'privledged' floors (19, 20, 21). Room was slightly below average in size. New granite bathroom counter tops, flat screen t.v., coffee maker. The rooms are completely re-done head to toe. There is no resemblance to the old hotel that was there: new modern wide toilets, tiles, fixtures, etc. While I didn't take to the art in the room, I found they did as good of a job with the renovations as possible. The room even smelled new. (They only re-opened up in April 2009). My room was still exceptionally new and very clean. There is even a complimentary newspaper on your door when you wake up. I have stayed in hundreds of hotel rooms in my life and many hotels that have had half-hearted renovations done...thank god that they did it right this time and were quite extensive. Even the hotel elevator cars have been re-finished.

Location is nice: right off hwy #1 Willingdon exit in Burnaby. If you enjoy gambling, the casino is on sight and is also completely re-done in a very jazzy and similar style.

I pre-booked using priceline.com bidding and paid $59 U.S. plus $17 taxes and booking fee. A BARGAIN! The walk in rate that day was $130 Canadian dollars plus taxes. I think I got tremendous value for my money...

Would stay again and highly recommend for business, casino or leisure travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I got a great deal from Priceline and this hotel is way above my expectation. Very new and clean, and the room is spacious. Bath room is a little tight but it is still nice. I like the decor of the purple theme a lot. The casino is nice and smoke free; however, the slot machines are really tight. I did not have too much fun in the casino. The location is great. It is just right next to high way and it is located in the area with many Asian restaurants near by (I am Asian). No free wifi and no swimming pool are the drawbacks. Staff are friendly. For the price I paid, I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Well I liked the overall property with the restaurants and casino the room itself was pretty blah and uninviting.Not a real great decor or well designed as it is a remodel from a few previous hotels.Not bad but just not that good.Of course being newly remodelled very clean and sufficient.Staff were excellent.Not a bad fitness studio.Nice new casino for those who like that activity

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 4331 Dominion St, Burnaby, British Columbia V5G 1C7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre, conveniently located close to business centres, leading academic institutions, shopping malls and attractions. The hotel will welcome the business traveller with the comforts of home and office. The leisure traveller will enjoy nearby shopping excursions, Burnaby's famous parks and local attractions. The hotel is located 30 minutes from Vancouver International Airport, and 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver by Skytrain or Highway route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.