We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best japanese food ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabiya Japanese Sushi Cafe

Wasabiya Japanese Sushi Cafe
Suite A3 - 465 Merecroft Road, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 6K6, Canada
(250) 287-7711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 120 Restaurants in Campbell River
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“best japanese food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

we have ordered sushi all over bc, including whistler and vancouver. Wasabiya is consistently the best sushi we have ever had. Their smoked salmon salad and volcano roles are favorites.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    0
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, tasty, well presented food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

One of theb3 excellent sushi restaurants in town. Very fresh fish/seafood, very well prepared. The venue is a little small, but clean and bright. Seating not all overly comfy or spacious. Make a reservation so you are not disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Ok food. Great service to make up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

First time to campbell river, decided to try out the best sushi restaurant in town. A bit disappointed to be honest. Food wasn't bad, but I wouldn't say they are above average, but then I'm comparing to best sushi I had in Seattle and Vancouver. Service was good, staff were friendly.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Some of the best sushi and Japanese food I've experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was introduced to this restaurant by friends in Campbell River. I would have not discovered it on my own as the exterior is very unassuming and it's a bit out of the way. Inside it's set up like a fast food restaurant without a lot of seating.

The Spicy Prawn Tempura is incredible. I also tried and enjoyed their spicy calamari tempura.

Well worth seeking this place out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Town Hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a long time fav. Best sushi by far, busy little place, make a reservation if you can, otherwise you may not get in. Last visit was a couple weeks ago and it did not disappoint. Wonderful fresh sushi everytime. The Spicy Prawn Tempura is a MUST!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabiya Japanese Sushi Cafe also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Wasabiya Japanese Sushi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabiya Japanese Sushi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.