We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and hot and no MSG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Restaurant

Driftwood Restaurant
4329 S Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9H 1B7, Canada
(250) 923-3833
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 120 Restaurants in Campbell River
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Black Creek, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh and hot and no MSG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lots of variety, especially seafood if you like it. The cooks keep replenishing the warmers and food is fresh, hot and they don't use MSG.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“really gone downhill lately”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This used to be a great restaurant but their prices keep going up while the food quality and service is going down. Even with a reservation it can be a long wait to get in. Instead of the smorg we ordered individual items as it's a much better deal ($18 bucks for a buffet?!?). When we had had our fill we wanted to take the leftovers with us and so we counted the prawns and chicken balls - we had already been ripped off once previously - and sure enough we only received about 2/3 of what we had asked to be packaged up. When we confronted the waitress she said that she had dropped some of it. Funny how that seems to happen so often...odds are it went back into the smorg (gross). So we won't be going back, there's other places in town that are just as good, cheaper, and closer (and honest).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food was delicious, good selection and reasonably priced. The service as usual was good and we were made to feel welcome. The location of the restaurant is also great with a view of the sea..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for pretty OK food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The fu part about this restaurant is that it seems to be a hangout for locals as well as tourists. We were hungry, it was open the food was just fine and the people watching and eavesdropping was great .

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Smorg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The best Chinese food between Campbell River and Courteney. Reservations are a must. Great prices and great service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Restaurant also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Driftwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.