We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adulterated Chicken” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moxie's Classic GrilL

Moxie's Classic GrilL
1360 Island Highway (Discovery Harbour Shopping Centre), Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 830-1500
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 120 Restaurants in Campbell River
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Adulterated Chicken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Three of us just had lunch at Moxie's in Campbell River. I asked the waitress to check on the vinaigrette in the citrus chicken salad as I have a soy allergy. She came back and said I could not have any of the chicken or meat dishes because the chicken and meat all contain soy. I appreciated the kitchen checking thoroughly but . . . even without an allergy, do I want soy in my chicken or other meat? When I order and am paying for chicken, I want chicken (This wasn't inexpensive.) - the taste of chicken and the texture of chicken.
I haven't seen the chicken at Moxie's but I often wondered, before this allergy was diagnosed and I started checking ingredients, why in some restaurants the chicken was spongy and flavourless. It's that soy injection. Back to restaurants that serve unadulterated chicken and other meats.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    24
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A grill with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Excellent lunch , served with a smile. Table with a view. Mid range prices...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very nice restaurant with good food and great service. Did not have to wait long for our order which is important when you are in a hurry

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Nice restuarant with a view ..food is usually quit good .Service is good but sometimes the music is to loud in the lounge area when you just want to eat and talk.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bar side good for eats, drinks and watching sports.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

Not a generic moxies, it's on the ocean front. Food and staff are great. Never a bad eating experience yet. Drink specials too don't hit the wallet as hard.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxie's Classic GrilL also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Moxie's Classic GrilL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moxie's Classic GrilL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.