We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals and presentation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legends Dining Room

Legends Dining Room
1625 McDonald Road (at Painter's Lodge & Fishing Resort), Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 286-1102
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 121 Restaurants in Campbell River
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great meals and presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The menu is somewhat limited but food is prepared very well with excellent presentation and service. We took advantage of the "cook your catch" option and were very happy. You can choose to have it Cooked on a cedar plank, or grilled or steamed. You then have a choice of 4 different sauces for your catch. We chose garlic butter one night and a raspberry beurre blanc (excellent!) on the second.
Note that if you want a larger menu selection you can take the free ferry across the bay to their sister location at April Point.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view, stiff prices, unimpressive food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Painter's Lodge while vacationing on the island and came here for the Sunday brunch ($27). Service was a bit irritating - we felt like they were trying to rush us out. What's the point of having brunch on a resort patio if you aren't going to hang around for an hour grazing and enjoying the view? Anyway, the food was not special. Bennies were dry, the cheese selection was uninteresting, the fruit was a bit old... we'd expect this level of cuisine from a $14 buffet at Bonanza, not an expensive brunch at an expensive resort. And the coffee... the coffee was atrocious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“don't miss the brunch or the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The brunch was one of the best we have enjoyed in several years. Incredible assortment of seafood, roast beef, vegetarian dishes, cheeses and WOW desserts.
The view from the deck or the dining room is right close and above the strait between Campbell River and Quadra Island with the Coast Range in the background.
well worth going to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but very disappointing main course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was a bit wary of this restaurant because of previous reviews I had read, we decided to eat here rather than over at April Point (where in the past we've had fantastic meals) because we were staying in the Lodge. The location is brilliant and we were seated where we had a great view. Don't remember our starters (not sure if that is good or bad) but the main course which we had both chosen "halibut with risotto" was extremely disappointing. The halibut was over cooked and the risotto stodgy! We were asked whether we were enjoying our meal and told the waiter no and why. The waiter seem unable to know what to do......

When we checked out of Painters Lodge the next day the receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay and I told him of the disappointment we both had with the main course. To be fair he did give us a refund on one of the main courses but not on both - which was a pity.

We would not eat here again if we happened to stay at Painters Lodge again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Legends with its elegant wall of windows and comfortable outdoor patio is our favorite dining venue in Campbell River, not least because they do an excellent job of preparing our salmon in their "cook your own catch" menu. There are three choices of cooking methods and sauces-- their "whiskey salmon" is quite tasty. Other entrees, such as steak, are also nicely prepared. Service is fantastic, thanks to attentive servers who move at lightning speed to take care of both the restaurant and outdoor deck. On request, the staff cooked up our leftover salmon and prepared take-out salmon sandwiches. Delicious!
HANDICAP / ELDERS TIP: The upper level of this restaurant can be accessed without using stairs, but multiple stairs lead to the deck which is on a lower level.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends Dining Room also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Legends Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.