We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing signs of neglect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dick's Fish & Chips

Dick's Fish & Chips
1003 Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 287-3336
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Comox, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Showing signs of neglect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Weve been to Dicks over ten times, always for the halibut, which is the best anywhere. After that, things are not so good. Their tartar sauce is clearly the cheapest mass produced they could buy. The coleslaw was from a pre-shredded package with plain ordinary mayo, nothing interesting or even tasty. But it was the French fries that really disappointed us this time. It looks like they use fresh potatoes, some edges had the skin on, which is great, but they turned out soggy, limp, and chewy. This is the first time for the fries, as we had ignored the insipid tartar sauce and lackluster coleslaw because the fish is just divine and the portion size very good.
Just wondering if the owners are getting tired and not paying attention.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    91
    29
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top class fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Most of the dining experiences I had in Campbell River were pretty average. Dick's though is a different matter. Truly world class fish and chips. And that's not a compliment I give away lightly. Great fresh food, perfectly cooked and served through the hatch to eat on the deck. This place clearly isn't a secret though. We went early and had no problem but by the time we left the lunch queue was very long.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I think this was the best fish & chips I ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stopped by on a Sunday morning - lineup was already happening. Had the halibut - light breading, fish was perfectly cooked, firm and hot. Neat that everything comes wrapped in a paper cone, and you drop it in the hole in the picnic table and chow down. Thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had dinner with our two children aged 7 and 9. The food served was probably some of the best in Campbell River, a town with limited food choices. The fish and chips was above average, especially the fried oysters, our favorite. The outdoor seating area was very enjoyable. Come early as they do not take reservations. We highly recommend this place for a crowd looking for authentic fish and chips with outdoor seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Off Day ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stop here every year when in town sometimes twice a day. Ordered my favourite Halibut and Chips. Disappointed that I did not see any of the regular staff this year. Hope it hasn't changed ownership. Did not seem to have same family atmosphere. As for the food I am a bit of a fish snob and I must say they missed the mark badly. While the coating was nice, light and light gold the Halibut was dry as sandpaper. Not sure if It was over cooked or whether the fish had been around to long. A place that has its business based on its reputation for excellant fish needs to have a look at their procedures. Chips did not seem homemade anymore and therefore nothing special. Hope it improves for my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Fish & Chips also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Dick's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dick's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.