We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Day ?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dick's Fish & Chips

Dick's Fish & Chips
1003 Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 287-3336
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Waterloo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Off Day ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stop here every year when in town sometimes twice a day. Ordered my favourite Halibut and Chips. Disappointed that I did not see any of the regular staff this year. Hope it hasn't changed ownership. Did not seem to have same family atmosphere. As for the food I am a bit of a fish snob and I must say they missed the mark badly. While the coating was nice, light and light gold the Halibut was dry as sandpaper. Not sure if It was over cooked or whether the fish had been around to long. A place that has its business based on its reputation for excellant fish needs to have a look at their procedures. Chips did not seem homemade anymore and therefore nothing special. Hope it improves for my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    86
    25
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Black Creek, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An absolute fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly staff, delicious fresh seefood. And those burgers and gravy's. Dick you really know what's good. Would recommend this to everyone!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must Eat Here if you visit Campbell River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We tried to eat dinner here upon arriving in Campbell River but the patio was packed and the line-up, long. So...we had lunch the following day. The restaurant is right on the Wharf, with incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and the mountains. The food is hot, fresh and plentiful and very reasonably priced. Cider and beer were available and appreciated on the hot day! Although most of us indulged on the battered fish and chips, healthy options were available that were also very delicious (salmon wrap)! I wouldn't hesitate to visit this quirky, happening little restaurant again and highly recommend that you do too. Be prepared to wait in line, as there will be one...but it moves quickly:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful (well, reasonably priced and cheerful!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've eaten here several times over the last few years, and the food has been consistently good. My partner and I always order the cod. It is always fresh, and the batter is not too thick or greasy. The chips are usually quite good, though not as delicious as the fish. It's a funky little place, and it's not fine dining (order at the counter or outside window, fish served in paper/cardboard, plastic forks, paper cups), but it's right on the dock, and there's a large patio for sunny days. Beware of the holes in the tables to put your paper cone in - my partner absentmindedly put his drink down in one and it disappeared, causing a great mess! If you feel adventurous and don't care about your cholesterol, they do a deep-fried Mars bar (not for me!).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average + but novel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've been here several times. The staff are down-home, wait times are minimal, the fish and chips are -- well, fish and chips. When the weather's nice, this is a lovely spot to people watch or just enjoy being on the water.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Fish & Chips also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Dick's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dick's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.