We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safety and bug issues” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Resorts

Oyster Bay Resorts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oyster Bay Resorts to your Saves list
Oyster Bay Resorts
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4357 South Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9H 1N4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Alert Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“safety and bug issues”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Disappointment. After wanting to stay here for years, I finally did last week and was disappointed with the entire visit. First off, the steps were not salted - the steps were icy and slushy. The pull out bed wouldn't pull out. The jacuzzi had a millipede in it, so I flick'd it out... I put a wine glass over the millipede, where it landed, thinking that I'd get a phone call of apology once it was discovered. No phone call. The lights that were on at night (along pathway) were off in the am - couldn't see when we left... So DISAPPOINTED!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What an awesome little hideaway! Stayed here for a wedding & had the BEST time! Cutest little cabins, each complete with their own barbeque & hot tub! Right across the street from the beach, super peaceful. Only problem is- it's quite a drive to the nearest restaurant or store, so be sure to plan ahead! Full size fridge & stove so you can bring drinks & groceries and be just fine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have a place right by the highway, but by choice, as the view is spectacular. We have been before, and love looking onto the ocean. Sometimes you see the cruise ships, later in the evening, and the highway traffic is incidental to the overall ambience. The clouds, and their majestic canvas are bucolic in nature, and as I type this, a cruise ship is appearing on the horizon. The amenities and the comfort of the cabins is excellent. Can't say enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Acceptable overnight stop on the way to somewhere, but certainly not worth the money. Water is across the highway, and no beach or anything worthwhile within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Usually my fiancee and I spend out anniversary in Tofino, but this time decided to stick closer to home due to weather and time constraints. What a fantastic idea! I loved these little cabins, the layout of the entire resort and the friendly staff. The beds were very comfortable, the BBQ was great and the tub. WOW. It might be a little pricey when you look online at the pictures and description, but rest assured, it is one of the most RELAXING places we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed in one of their 1 bedroom chalets for 2 nights at $169 per night. While this may sound a bit high, it is worth every cent. The chalet is approx 15ft wide and 30 ft long. It contains a queen size bed in a separate room, a comfortable living room, a fully-equiped galley kitchen and a huge bathroom with a large 2 person hot tub in the rear. The unit doesn't have a phone. But the main benefit is the view. Off of the front deck ,which has it's own gas bbq, you have only a 2 lane highway that separates you from the Vancouver Strait and GORGEOUS view of the BC mountains in the background. Keep an eye out on Saturday and Sunday evenings as the cruise ships pass by with all of their lights on which is quite a sight. The resort is only a few miles from Campbell River for shopping. The only major drawback are the resorts roads and sidewalks, they are all gravel which makes it hard to pull your wheeled luggage to your unit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We were looking forward to staying at the Oyster Bay Resorts for many reasons. Mainly the location, the fact that we had our own bar-b-q and of course the 2 person jacuzzi. We arrived about an hour early for check in and the desk staff was extremely friendly and allowed us to check in early. She had great ideas of things to check out in the area and truly was very kind. Since there was a bit of a heat wave going on in the area...+32-38 every day, we asked about A/C. She replied that they did not have A/C but that a fan was provided in each chalet. This was the biggest downfall to our stay here. While the chalet we stayed in was extremely clean, and big enough for the two of us to enjoy some time alone, the fact that it was so hot inside kept us out of the chalet most of the time. The fan that was provided was very small and did not help one bit. On our second night we ended up purchasing a bigger fan just to help get us through the night.
The jacuzzi definately helped. It was definately the best feature at Oyster Bay Resorts for us. Each night we would enjoy a relaxing COLD bath to help us get to sleep.
The shower was also a bust for us. It was extremely small, with the drain in the floor of the bathroom and a small curtain to go around you that never stayed locked. In order to wash my hair I had to turn the taps off, as there was just no room to move.
The kitchen, while large enough, could have used a few more dishes but was workable.
The internet connection was very poor and was hit and miss, but not a major issue if you are going on a romantic getaway.
The bar-b-q was excellent. We enjoyed cooking on it, looking out at the ocean in the evening as well as the morning.
The bed was very comfortable, and I am sure during the colder months the blankets and such would have worked just fine.
All in all, our stay here was ok. It would have been more enjoyable had there been A/C. We will definately stay here again, in the winter when we can use the fireplace to keep warm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Bay Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Resorts

Address: 4357 South Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9H 1N4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oyster Bay Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Bay Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.