We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd.

Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd.
760 Island Highway | Coast Marina, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2C4, Canada
1-866-501-6722
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YOUR ADVENTURE IS OUR PASSION! Come and join us on our fun & comfortable full and half day adventure boat tours. Choose from responsible Whale Watching Safaris, exhilarating Marine Wildlife & Tidal Rapids Tours or experience with us majestic giants on an awe-inspiring Grizzly Bear Excursion! Discover in Comfort with Campbell River’s premier tour operator! Our Marine Naturalist will share his knowledge with you and we provide a delicious picnic lunch. WIR SPRECHEN DEUTSCH!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a good day of whale hunting and learning a lot about orcas that we didn't already know. Shaun, Mark and Sherrie provided us with lots of information as well as getting us safely out to where the whales were. We got to see about 30 orca as well as a very large group of white sided dolphins playing and jumping for our entertainment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    11
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“best wild life trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

boarded the boat for the last trip from Sayward this year with biologist Mark and Capt Shaun. cold and misty but lots of interesting information about the area en route to find the whales.then out of the mist several pods of orcas. rising and diving majestically in the mystic mist. Mark knew which pods they were and we were treated to a long period of them passing very close to the boat and we returned passing sea lions seal humpback whale bald eagle what an experience possibly the best trip we have ever made thank you

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“super grizzly bear watching trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked a grizzly bear watching trip and went to the Bute inlet on Monday 17 September.
Weather wise it was a perfect day with 25 degrees forecasted.
We were welcomed by our captain, Joe, who told us that it should be a good day for bear watching.
Our captain is a local and told many interesting things about the area. Only minutes after we left campbell river we already spotted a hump back whale off Quadra Island!
Once we got to the Bute inlet we were transported to the viewing towers and it didn't take long to spot our first grizzly looking for some salmon. We then moved to another tower and again it didn't long to spot another hungry male grizzly. We had first row viewing from these towers and the grizzly was in front of us for about 20min.
We were escorted by a local from the Homalco people, Calvin was his name. Calvin was a wealth of knowledge on grizzly bears. He answered every question about the bears. Because it was a relatively warm day, 25 degrees, not too many grizzly's came out. Grizzly's like cooler weather and come to feed on salmon in the cooler part of the day. All in all it was a super experience, the scenery is nothing short of awesome in the Bute inlet.
Food and drinks were included so we didn't go hungry.
The trip was not cheap at $349 ex tax however worth every penny!
A must see experience when visiting Canada!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We saw grizzle bears!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I went on the Grizzly Bear trip on 14 September 2012. There were 13 of us between two boats so there was lots of room. The cabin means that you don't have to be blown about even at speed.
We were away for 7 hours 40 minutes. During the trip we encountered lots of wildlife in particular, dolphins and two Orca ( they make great sounds when blowing). When we arrived at the mouth of the Orford River we were met by Kalvin who took us out to the viewing towers. We soon saw a male grizzly about 100m away catch a fish and an eagle dealt with the leftovers. Then a mother and two cubs started fishing and caught two salmon. It would have been great if these bears had come a bit closer but they are wild animals and I felt privileged just to be in their habit for a brief period. We actually encountered 8 grizzlies in total!!
Crew are knowledgeable and good fun. Great day out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
1 review
“VIP treatment out on the Ocean Wave!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Yes thank you Joel you are excellent at your job as your safety procedures and instructions prior to leaving the dock at Campbell River were so good and the whole journey we felt so confident in your care. You were polite and fun in fact some photos I shared with family overseas I had them rolling around with laughter. It was we feel a trip of a lifetime not forgetting the wonderful wildlife, you made sure we saw. There weres Ocra and white sided dolphins swimming alongside Sea Lions - just out of this world!! Weather wonderful you kept in constant radio contact with Elvis (oh how I wish he would have sung for us) Food was excellent just could not fault this trip. From the Brits. We took this tour on 31st August 2012. We can send some photos later to this wonderful Marine Safari site..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd. also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.