We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage River Inn

Heritage River Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage River Inn to your Saves list
Heritage River Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2140 North Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2G7, Canada (Formerly Rustic Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Just fine for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nothing was spectacular but nothing was terrible. It was cute and clean. The breakfast was fine- coffee was not. It had a little fridge that we didnt use. We were really only there about 10 hours so dont have much to write about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pictou, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in the suite, it has two bedrooms and a bed in the main area. It was very clean, everything was there to cook your own meals and big enough to hang out with a bunch of people. One big plus was the unscented linens. The staff are very helpful, our plans kept changing when we were on the road and we kept in touch by email. They were very accommodating and prompt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed her last week of Sept. first week Oct. 2012 as a base for fishing on the Island. There were four fishermen and one better half (wife). The couple stayed in a double room with seperate bathroom and a kitchen area with table and chairs. Three, including myself, stayed in "The Cabin" which has three bedrooms with bouble beds, a seperate bathroom and toilet and a lounge and kitchen area with a large table and four chairs. The kitchen areas in both units had a cooker with oven, a microwave, large fridge/freezer and a fresh filter coffee maker. Crockery and cooking pots were provided. There was a large TV in the lounge area and smarler tv's in each of the bedrooms. Outside there was a verander with a bench seat and in the garden area next to the cabin there was a covered seated area with a large gas bar-b-que.There are a number of these around the garden area along with a fish cleaning area with sink. There is a breakfast room that has cereals, bread and a toaster with butter and preserves, a filter coffee machine and a large fridge/freezer with three different milks and a selection of yoghurts and a bowl of fresh fruit. Next to this is a laundry room and a seperate wet weather drying room ideal for drying waders and wading boots. All in all a really good place to stay as a base to visit the islands attractions or salmon rivers.

Room Tip: The three bed cabin with sleep four as one room has a single and a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed here the past two years on a buddy and son fishing trip to Campbell River. Heritage works for us, we stay in the three bedroom suite, cook our own meals (fresh caught salmon and steaks), drink a few beers and get ready to go fishing. The rooms are generally clean, well equipped and the morning breakfast is ready early to accommodate fishermen, travellers and trades guests. Don't expect too much and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

How this place gets to be rated #1 in Trip Advisor boggles my mind. I am learning the hard way about using Trip Advisor, take everything with a grain of salt. Whoever rate this place as good or excellent ought to have their heads checked. The place is a low rate Motel, away from the city outside of walking distance to any place useful and far from the beach. It is located in a commercial area behind the Box store called the Brick. It is old and i won't walk walk on the floor without my shoes. The fridge is extremely noisy and the room does not smell fresh.All in.all one of the worst if not the worst place i have stayed in. Not impressed. This is my first use of the Trip Advisor and i can say that i am not impress either.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I always stay at the Heritage River Inn when in Campbell River, which is ten or twelve times a year. I travel to CR for business on a regular basis and sometimes take my dog along. The HRI takes pets and the set up is safe and convenient. The place is a regular way point for residents of northern Vancouver Island as they travel south with their families. It's also a regular stopping point for contractors, the early to bed, early to rise crowd. It's simple, quiet and clean and the newer rooms are very spacious, the best choice for people like me who want a safe place with parking that allows me to haul lots of gear into the room. The staff and management are always friendly, which is important when you pull in after a long day on the road, and the WiFi is free and depenpendable. And on top of all that, the staff found my gold earrings and made sure that I got them back - much appreciated. They would have been hard to replace at today's gold prices!

Room Tip: I like the rooms which face the parking courtyard, they're very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed at the Heritage River Inn, Campbell River while vacationing with my ex boyfriend several years ago. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous! The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The barbecue was so delicious that I was sure it must have been prepared by Iron Chef Bobby Flay himself.

The staff was incredible, particularly Rebekah the manager. She was very caring and attentive, and made us feel so welcome and at home. At one point, my ex boyfriend and I were without a vehicle (long story) and Rebekah drove us around town on her day off!!

My ex and I caught several wild Salmon, which would have cost well over $100 at the market. Not bad for recreational catch! It really was a trip that paid for itself.

Before my ex boyfriend passed away, he said that he had only two regrets in life: letting go of me, and never returning to the Heritage River Inn, Campbell River. He said it was the most enjoyable weekend he'd ever had in his life.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage River Inn

Address: 2140 North Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2G7, Canada (Formerly Rustic Motel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Heritage River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Hotel Campbell River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.