We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Staff helpful and friendly, rooms small kept very clean. Decor very dated. Whole thing is in need of major overhaul, paint, furniture, etc. Next door is a pub/restaurant. DO NOT eat at the restaurant. Pub and pub food OK, restaurant is horrendous. Worst meal I think I've ever had. Almost a joke if was not so terrible.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    101
    71
    22
    12
See reviews for
80
101
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This hotel is an older, well maintained building. It is across the highway from a beach, and the view off of my patio looked onto the ocean. The bed was comfortable, and the pillows were great. I appreciated the fridge in the room-it was slightly larger than the mini fridges I am used to seeing in motel rooms, which was a bonus. A microwave would have been a plus. The breakfast was more than what I expected. Overall, I was satisfied and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The hotel pictures in the brochure were altered to make it look like the hotel was oceanfront when in fact the existing Hwy 19 is right in front of it. (It had been photoshopped out of the picture.) The hwy noise was heavy especially with all the detouring due to the construction. The hotel isn't within walking distance of anything and the beach (accessed by running across the hwy) is rocky with driftwood everywhere. Hardly the beach implied in the brochure. We stayed in a kitchenette suite with a loft. The beds were comfortable but the noise was incredible. We could hear the adjacent suite "ruffling" through plastic bags late at night and we could hear phone conversations clearly from the suites on either side of us. The walls were as if they were paper thin. After taking a shower I noticed old broken tile grout and dirt next to the baseboard heater which remained their for 4 days until I cleaned it myself. Also dark dirt/mold around the shower taps which I also cleaned before I let my family use it. The pool looked old and needs upgrading. The staff overall was friendly although one of the front clerks asked where we were from (AB) and proceeded to give her input on how "ugly" it was in our province. I had no choice in switching to a different hotel as our stay was paid for by my employer but we've passed on our review and they will no longer book rooms for their employees or employee families at this establishment. Will stay downtown next time within walking distance of ferry, shopping, marina and a beachfront park.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My daughter and I had a great experience at this hotel. We loved our room, which seemed to have the biggest balcony of all the units (lucky us). 2 queen beds with white bedding in a very clean room. From our room we could see cruise ships cruising home from Alaska. We happened to be there during a heatwave, but since our room was facing north, it remained nice and cool and a fan was in the room to keep the air moving. Don't expect air conditioning, because none is needed. We were prepared for any noise above us since the hotel's construction is wood. However, since it is a family friendly hotel, little kids food steps were soon quiet and we enjoyed a peaceful stay.
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. You felt you were part of a family. Continental breakfast was satisfactory. The Austrian look and feel with all the flower baskets makes the hotel quite attractive.
We spent the Saturday on Quadra Island, where we also met the most friendly people.
We had car trouble and found Campbell River folks most helpful in getting is mobile again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Our hotel is a Best Western called Austrian Chalet and we are in what could be described as a Austrian Chalet maisonette. There is a living area downstairs and there is a balcony from which there are brilliant uninterrupted views are across the Strait, and where we have seen several cruise ships and large cargo vessels whizzing past. Our bedroom containing 2 queen beds is upstairs in a loft area which also has a gallery looking down onto the living area. The hotel has a pool, putting area and table tennis. And just along the road there is a marker indicating the crossing of the 50th Parallel.
The continental breakfast is provided in a small room overlooking the Strait and is ample fto keep us going for the rest of the day.
The hotel is ideally place to enable the north of the island to be explored. I would recommend the boardwalk built Telegraph Cove and the Port MacNeil where the museum was very interesting. The curator there was a brilliant person to talk to. This was also an ideal location to act as a base for exploring the Strathcona National Park. We tried to go to a place called Zeballos but found the road too gravelly and unsuitable for our car.
The is an inn next door but this is not suitable for children under 19, there is also a restaurant but the was closed by 9pm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westcoast_canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Stayed at this property for two nights on a sightseeing trip to Campbell River. Choose this property for its amenities and proximity to the ocean. Stayed in a standard room on the bottom floor with an ocean view. The room was very comfortable which included a separate sitting area off the bedroom where the room entrance is located. The only criticism I had is that the room could do with a little work as the baseboards were marked up, face plates on light switches looked as if they needed replacing and the shears hung a little low off the window, the furnishings were comfortable although a little dated. Even with these minor notes we really enjoyed our stay at this property and would recommend it to others. The pool was spotless and the hot tub was very warm with many strong jets, did not use the gym although it looked like it has lots of nice equipment. The breakfast in the morning was nice, the breakfast room has a nice view of the ocean and was very well maintained and all products stocked. The front desk agents were extremely helpful and friendly. I believe that is is one of the best places to stay in Campbell River due to its great location, comfortable rooms and its array of amenities all at a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Nice hotel. Stayed just one night for a business trip. Kelly on the front desk saved the day for me as I had missing page of a document I need to print out. She was happy to help me out and refused payment. Thank you so much Kelly.

The room was nice, and they had a nice setup for breakfast in the morning. Next time I will try out the pool. Great hotel, I recommend it and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NOTICE OF RENOVATION - Our lobby will be relocated from September 8th to November 15 2014. We will be located in our Managers Suite just above the lobby. We will continue to operate during this time** Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.