We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
“Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We always stay at this hotel when we go to Campbell River. The staff is great and most remember us. We feel very comfortable with our dog and accommodations. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs accommodations in Campbell River.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    102
    71
    22
    12
See reviews for
80
102
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I quess we arrived at the end of the season so there was a good deal of maintenance going on. We found the reception and got checked in straightaway. Room does need some renovation, but we passed two comfortable nights. Breakfast was good the first day, we were later on the second so most of the food and waitress had disappeared! Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With the Ocean front property, the location, the service's it has! With the staff, from the GM, front desk, to the housekeeping and maintenance, this is an excellent hotel. Very caring and helpful with your travel needs and wants.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Rob, it is always a pleasure when you and your daughter stay with us. You are like family and it is nice to hear that you feel the same way. We care about all of our guests and do our best to ensure they have what they need for an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for the positive response, it is appreciated. If we don't see you soon, the staff here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet would like to wish you a happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow what a difference a year makes , the lobby looks spectacular. The rooms have more upgrades and the breakfast selection goes far beyond the usual suspects for a continental! Again we really enjoyed our stay , the breakfast actually changed over the week we were there +++ crepes ,french toast, and the waffle bar were a pleasant surprise .The clean comfy rooms showing upgrades and updates since our last visit were still a bit small but the staff was great . friendly, helpful and doing what they could to make our stay perfect.

Room Tip: With a variety of room types available talk to the front desk and let them know what you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are quite thrilled with the progress we have made over the last year and I am glad you and your family are enjoying it too. Our new renovated lobby looks fabulous, with new flooring, coffee station and expanded business center. There is still work to be done over the next couple of years, so please do come back and you will see more changes. We have several upgraded room types to offer and I am happy that the front desk was able to accommodate your needs.

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince george, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had to stay longer than we expected in campbell river as baby was overdue but the staff treated us very well and gave us an excellent deal on the price. the hotel is in a very beautiful location and we loved going for walks along the ocean right across the street.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Congratulations on the new addition to your family! Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. I will pass along your praise to our staff. They do go out of their way to ensure each guest has a wonderful experience.

Hope to see you and the little one soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I went there with a friend prior to go hiking in the Strathcona Park. I have asked for a room with 2 beds with my reservation but we got a room with one bed at check-in. Plus the lady at the front desk forgot to activate our card/key and it was a pain in the neck at midnight in the freezing cold to go back to the lobby. Other than that, the room was very clean, the kitchenette was top notch, the bed was very comfortable and and warm (unlike most hotel beds) but the room temperature was way too high, we could barely breathe. The breakfast was okay, nothing spectacular but good and we had an interesting variety of food to eat (crumbled eggs, sausages, bacon, toasts, bagels, muffins, fruits, orange and apple juice, coffee, yogourts, apples and oranges, etc.) It was a bit expensive for one night (135 $) but the hotel is well situated for people who are heading to the Strathcona Park and compare to the hotels around it's somehow worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the room mix up, but I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy yourself. Strathcona is a wonderful place to visit while staying with us in Campbell River.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We spent only one night at this hotel, so we didn't have time to try all the amenities, but we liked what we saw.
Upon arrival we were offered a free upgrade to a loft suite. Nice gesture. Service was efficient and friendly.
The included breakfast is good, with some hot food too, beside the muffins and cereal. So overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to try our breakfast. We are trying new things in our breakfast rooms such as breakfast sandwiches and adding veggies to our eggs. Here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, we want to ensure that our guests are happy with the breakfast selection by adding nutritious elements to our menu.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NOTICE OF RENOVATION - Our lobby will be relocated from September 8th to November 15 2014. We will be located in our Managers Suite just above the lobby. We will continue to operate during this time** Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.