We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were competing in a sporting event while in town and found this hotel very pleasant to stay in. It is an older facility but very friendly staff and the overall experience would make me consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. Your feedback is appreciated. We are an older hotel, but we are making efforts to improve our property and guest rooms while still trying to maintain our Austrian Chalet charm.

I do hope you will return and notice the changes that we will be implementing over the next few years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    113
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
91
109
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ardsley, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Best Western at Campbell River is a nice motel with an enjoyable breakfast experience. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. It has a small golf putting course and ping pong table as well as a swimming pool and hot tub' It also has an exercise room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you took advantage of almost all the amenities we had to offer. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We have been working very hard updating our property. There are still many updates that are planned over the next couple of years and I hope that you will come back to see the differences as we progress and become even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A decent hotel win a decent price. The view of the water is great to watch the morning sunrise. Breakfast could be better though. Very few vegan options - just fruit and processed oatmeal. The staff is very helpful and were nice enough to upgrade us to the Eagle Room! Beds were comfortable. Overall a pretty good hotel, nothing too fancy but worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Your review is appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into providing more vegan friendly options for breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night in June 2014. We had a loft room which was south facing and was incredibly warm. The window to the rear of the loft bedroom had no view from it (in fact the window was onto the corridor!)

Despite having two floors to the room it still felt small somehow! We had a really horrible 'eww' moment when we found a half eaten peach in the ice bucket!!

Fortunately we were only staying one night... we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
On behalf of the team here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, I would like to sincerely apologize for what you experienced. I have addressed the housekeeping staff and reminded them about checking ice buckets during room checks.

Originally, our Alpine building was an exterior entrance building. The reason why your bedroom has a view of the corridor is because said corridor was added on about ten years ago. This was to protect guests from the blustery weather we experience for most of the year. We are undergoing a property improvement program and by 2016 our guest rooms will have greatly improved in decor and furnishings. We have already installed granite counter tops, new vanities, updated lighting packages and bed skirts with matching bolsters. Drapes to match our new bed skirts will be installed by the end of the year.

As for the rest of the property, we have already expanded our breakfast room, we are painting the exterior this summer and we will be renovating our lobby this fall. Much more is to follow in the coming years and I do hope you will reconsider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Catawba, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were delighted with the quality of this hotel, especially for the price. We were offered an upgrade to a room with a lovely view (because we're members of their priority club). The indoor heated pool and the hot tub were very refreshing, the beds and pillows were really comfortable, the kitchenette was well-stocked, and the hot breakfast was delicious! Staff was exceptionally helpful. We look forward to staying here again when we visit Campbell River.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been working very hard to improve the quality of our breakfast room items and it is great when our guests recognize the variety we offer.

Our breakfast room is now operating in summer hours from 6 am to 10 am every day and we offer a rotating menu. Pancakes, french toast, crepes, eggs, bacon and sausage links are just some of the items you will find. We also offer a variety of healthy items such as oat meal, yogurt, fresh fruit and an assortment of organic tea.

Your review is appreciated and we look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The loft room is spacious for the price but as couldn't figure out the temperature control the sleeping area in the loft remained too warm. I should have asked for help with it. A guest in the next room smoked on the balcony which was unpleasant. Should have complained but didn't want to. Otherwise a very pleasant two night stay. Very polite, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you could not figure out the temperature control. Our staff would have been happy to help you with anything you required and are available 24 hours a day. Depending on the room, some of our loft units offer air conditioning units that help keep the upper loft area cool at night.

I do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

On arrival checked in reception first thing noticed was the STRONG smell of pets from the carpet very off putting. From entering the hotel room you could smell the strong musty pet smell again in the carpets. No safe ... Nothing nearby but the pub that served food next door to hotel food was ok the rebut basic . Breakfast was self service which was basic but ok nothing special. Only thing going for this hotel is they have a swimming pool and hot tub but locals come in to use it for free so at times bit busy no lockers for your clothes.
Was glad we managed to change our stay from 2 nights to 1 and they had the nerve to overcharge our credit card so had to email hotel to ask for refund .
Was reasonable priced guess that's why so basic
Don't recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
On behalf of the staff here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. While we are a pet friendly hotel, we do have rooms that are specifically not for pets for those guests who have allergies. We are also part of an improvement program and will be renovating our lobby this fall, the rugs and furniture are going to be replaced.
While the pool is open to the public, we do not let them in for free. They are pass holders and or pay a drop in fee.

Again, I do apologize for not meeting your expectations and I hope that you will reconsider visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***NOTICE** OUR POOL WILL BE DOWN FOR ANNUAL MAINTENANCE FROM MAY 1 2015 TO MAY 20 2015. Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.