We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed (no bath) under the ceiling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bed (no bath) under the ceiling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Weird room. Two levels. To get to the bed, you climb a steep open 13-step stairway on the first level of the room. But the bathroom is on the main level. So there you are up on the loft with no toilet or water.... not even a mirror and the stairs are STEEP. A handicapped person could not stay in this room. Using the toilet in the middle of the night was a challenge.
Also, ALL equipment in the exercise room was broken.
The breakfast room had chairs for only 12 people.
Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Perhaps you can request a single level room. I don't know if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The room you had was our loft units. As you mentioned the sleeping area is up in the loft portion and the living and bathroom down below. We do have other rooms that accommodate the bathroom and sleeping in one area, however these may have been booked at time of your reservation. Many people do enjoy our loft units as they have the highest view point over looking Discovery Passage. Yes, our current breakfast room does have limited seating; however we are working on expanding this. With your regards to guest that may have troubles with stairs we do have rooms that are ground or entry level to accommodate wheel chairs or easier access. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    113
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
91
109
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South west England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When you arrive you are met with a lovely floral display and well maintained grounds. Plenty of parking and nice sea views although our room was on the side so not as good as a room facing the bay. Rooms are a good size nice comfortable beds and clean and tidy. We had a problem with the constant hum from, we think it was the pool air conditioning fan, but we're told hotel was full so couldn't move rooms, but we did get used to it by the second night. Being on the main road you do get traffic noise but it does quieter down at night so not to bad. The famous breakfast room is very small but we just got what we needed and took it back to our room to avoid the crush and it is complementary so can't really complain. Overall hotel is fine for a night or two wouldn't want to stay longer personally.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing forwards and away from pool fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I apologize for the hum you had to experience. Our maintenance staff do try to keep on top of these types of issues, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. Happy to hear you were able to enjoy our breakfast, as you have probally read we are looking at ways to improve the space. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a room on the top floor with an excellent view to Discovery Passage, so we could watch the ships passing. Our room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The breakfast was really good, with a wide choice of hot and cold items which were swiftly replenished as necessary. Despite some people's comments, we had no issues with the breakfast room and there was also extra space on the lovely patio. Most guests seem to leave early so it probably pays to have breakfast a little later if you are not in a hurry. The hotel was full but there were only one or two dog owners and balcony smokers on the premises so it wasn't disturbing. Everything is really well maintained and the flower boxes and gardens are beautiful, which makes the whole complex very appealing. The adjoining pub was very convenient for wining and dining with excellent service and good food/drink. There is a games room and indoor pool which we did not have time to use. Check-in/check-out was easy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, we were very satisfied and will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Great to hear you enjoyed our loft units over looking the Discovery Passage. As you mentioned, during the summer months you can watch the cruise ships sail through. Sounds like you enjoyed many aspects of our property and we are glad to hear that! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

An excellent clean hotel that sits across the Street from the ocean and beach. The ocean view is to die for and nothing like having an early morning cup of coffee in the restaurant and watch the sun come up over the ocean. Clean rooms and excellent strong internet signal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
You can't beat the morning sunrises here in Campbell River, and like you said how better to enjoy then a cup of coffee from our breakfast room. As we are so lucky to be situated across from the Ocean, all of our guest rooms enjoy ocean view. Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked three nights in this hotel several months ago as first choice was fully booked. The staff couldn't have been nicer however, the building is dated and the rooms are poorly furnished. Shortly after checking in we decided to stay just two nights we would return to Campbell River but would never stay here again. Décor and carpets are grubby and unappealing. If this is ranked three in Campbell River I can hardly imagine what the others are like. This hotel is beyond refurbishment it's style and rooms do not fit the needs of the modern traveller

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I apologize that you felt we are not equipped for the modern traveler. Our rooms all have flat screen TVs, HD Cable with movie channels, IPod docks, mini fridge, complimentary WIFI, continental breakfast, and brand new beds. We have kitchenettes that have all been newly renovated complete with new cabinets, microwaves, stove top burners and granite counter tops. We have just installed new sofa pullouts in our loft units along with new bedding and drapery.

Feedback from our guests is how we improve. We are currently working on enhancing our breakfast space to allow for more seating. Other updates will include new lighting in rooms, headboards, and bathroom mirrors.

If you do return to Campbell River we do encourage you to stay with us again to see the change we are making. Again thank you for taking the time to provide your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We selected this hotel from a large number in Campbell River. Have used Best Westerns in several other towns and cities . This was the best yet. Someone spends a lot of time and skill in creating and maintaining the scores of magnificent hanging baskets, which adorn every balcony and patio. The visual color explosion as you pull in from the street is stunning.
Service is very good. We really appreciated having the desk phone the room about an hour after our arrival to check that all was well.
Room was large,well- furnished, pleasingly decorated and very comfortable. The ensuite was a pleasant surprise in that there was ample room to move around. Good supply of VERY hot water.
Amenities include min-golf, which we played, outdoor table tennis, exercise room and indoor pool,, all well maintained and very accessible.
The in-price continental breakfast was excellent, with more choices, and better prepared and presented than one might find in many restaurants. Very satisfying.
Location is directly across from the ocean, facing east. I'm sure on sunny mornings there is a delightful walk there. We awoke to, and eventually left in, swirling sea fog..
Across the north parking lot is a pub, with an extensive menu, reasonable prices and excellent food. We dined there and were well sated.
if my business commitments take me to the North Island again, we will definitely re-visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 thru' 110 face the pub. We found no noise problem. other might. (We were in #102). CAU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We graciously thank you for your review and feedback. Our balcony flower boxes are a sight in the summer, our staff takes great pride and care in keeping them look beautiful. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed our Deluxe Continental Breakfast served daily. We rotate our hot items menu to make sure our guests get some variety. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights there with our small dog while exploring hiking in Strathcona Park. In general the room was just fine and clean and the second night was much better than the first... They claim it's a non-smoking hotel but people do smoke on the balconies and our two neighbours were smoking and the smoke was coming right through our door - so we had to close that only intake of outside air and there was no other ventilation in our room (no A/C ). Because we had a dog (there is a $20 supplement), they must only use ground floor rooms that are quite small and there was no way we could get a better room. On the first night, the neighbours made noise by yelling at some point and then talking until the wee hours of the morning -> there is little or no sound proofing in those rooms and you can hear the other party talking in their room! Worst of all, they were smokers and used the adjacent balcony to smoke which forced us to close our only air intake. The hotel seems to accept that practice as an ashtray was there for their use. The internet was ok but at some time in the evening it was getting very slow.

So, all in all, it's a fair hotel, with good beds, a decent breakfast and nice rooms if you don't have a dog. But beware of noise if you are bad lucky enough to get noisy neighbours!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Please allow me to apologize for the guests smoking on the balconies. This is an issue we are looking to rectify. As for the pet friendly rooms, we do limit the rooms so we can assure other guests who may have allergies, etc that no pets have been in their rooms. We have also found that many of our guests have enjoyed having their pet friendly rooms on ground level as they are able to take advantage of the grassed court yard. However, you do bring up a valid point that many guests who travel with their pets may like to book the loft units as well. This may be something we can look at. Thank you for your feedback as it assists us in making our services better for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***NOTICE** OUR POOL WILL BE DOWN FOR ANNUAL MAINTENANCE FROM MAY 1 2015 TO MAY 20 2015. Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.