We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Campbell River
Port Alice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Due to surgical complications we had to book two more nights. We were not told in advance that the room rate would go up. also the energy charge of 2.85 was not mentioned either. We have never encountered this charge in the past. When we are given a room rate it is understood about the PST and GST any other charges should be laid out up front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I apologize for the surprise on our rate change. Our rates fluctuate during certain periods. We do our best to indicate to guests when the rates change, however sometimes we do miss it. I will address with the staff the importance of indicating this when extending stay or changing dates. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    80
    60
    19
    7
See reviews for
64
78
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found the Best western in Campbell River, awesome. Even the housekeeper, Debbie and her coworkers, plus all the staff employed at the best western, have done a marvelous job. Keep up the good work. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging our hardworking staff! Debbie and the team work hard on a daily basis to provide our guests with a comfortable stay. We are always pleased to hear that our property is the "Best Place to Stay!" We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was disappointed. I booked at this hotel because I have first hand knowledge of Best Wetern Plus hotels. This did not live up to that standard. No elevator that I could see. To reach the fitness room, swimming pool or breakfast one has to go outside and walk across open parking lots. What is this like in inclement weather. Double walk for the "gym" as you have to go to office to get key, then use "gym" and then back to office with key. The lock should be able to be used on room key. Breakfast room too small to accomdate guests. In fine weather may be OK as there is an outside patio. You have to be an early bird if you want the full selection of food items. Dansh ran out, muffin selection depleted, fruit bowl not kept filled.
Please do not judge all Best Western Plus hotels by this one. Most are far superior.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate our guest's feedback. I can understand your frustration with finding some of our breakfast items low when you arrived for breakfast. However, there are times where levels do run down based on the volume of guests coming in. Our staff work hard at keeping up to the demands. We offer a daily selection of deluxe continental breakfast items that many of our guests enjoy, including a rotating hot menu (bacon, sausage, kielbasa, cheese & pain omelets, scrambled eggs and seasoned hash browns).

We are an approved Best Western Plus and meet all the standards. We have recently updated all the guest rooms with granite counter tops in the bathrooms along with our kitchenettes complete with under mounted sinks. All of our beds are new last spring with new bedding this year. In addition, all of the guest rooms have new flat screen tvs complete with HDTV.

Our current upgrades include new bed skirts and drapery which we are in the process of changing. Our next large project is expanding the breakfast room seating capacity.

We are a property that has three separate guest room buildings, however they are all in close proximity of the pool and fitness area for all guests to enjoy. This is what is great about Best Western hotels, wither it be a Best Western, a Plus or a Premier status, each location has their own unique character. There are many Best Western Plus hotels that have exterior entrances to the guest rooms, or where you have access a separate building for the fitness & pool facilities. It's not how the hotel is structured that makes the stay enjoyable, it's the experience and comfort of your stay and we at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet strive for superior customer service with each guest that stays with us.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Updating needed in the room. For this chain there should at least be couches without being torn and ripped. I would 've embarrassed to have this in my home. Food was good. For the view...I could overlook the flaws. No fans in bathrooms which is odd. No air conditioning either.
Id choose different hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We have an order of new sofas coming in late June of this year, these will replace on the sofas in the loft units. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the stunning views. We do have loft units available with air condititioning and all of our rooms are equipped with bedroom fans for our guest's use. We are also on a continous road of updates. Over the last year we've completed tv updates, new beds and bedding, we are currently installing new drapes and bed skirts, we've redone all the kitchenttes with new cabinets, granite counter tops and glass cooktops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I know I'm late writiing this, but I stayed here with my dad and sister back in August 2009 when we took a kayaking and hiking trip to Vancouver Island. What a nice hotel! There was no AC, but there was also no need for it because of the beautiful weather in Campbell River. Rooms were spacious, clean, unpretentious. I absolutely LOVED the pool, spa, and sauna and took full advantage of their availability every day after our adventures. The hotel wasn't overly crowded either. The staff was friendly too. The decor was very cute....and coming from someone who has visited Austria, it matched the name perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Never to late to send in your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and after 4 years you still remember your stay here! Since your last stay we've done a lot of updates. New beds, new bedding including top sheets, bed scarfs, pillows and bed skirts. We've put in new HDTV Flat Screens in every room, new bathroom vanities with granite counter tops and under mounted sinks. We have a hot breakfast and more to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a great 2 night stay in a 2 story room with 4 beds and 4 TV's! Room was really clean and in great shape. New bathroom vanities and kitchenette unit. Hotel has a great complimentary breakfast with 3 hot items, cereals, yogurt, fruit, waffle maker, etc. My son and I enjoyed the mini golf, swimming pool and ping pong table as well. The beach is right across the road and has a great walking path. Staff was really friendly too.

Room Tip: This room would sleep 10 people and has 2 bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the newest updates we have done to the rooms. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Our pool/sauna will be down April 14th to May 31, 2014** Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.