We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I Stayed here for 3 nights, arrived at Campbell River Airport and took a short taxi ride to the hotel. Had a great room with a nice view, friendly staff, good breakfast but most of all Amazing location! you walk outside and there is the water. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our property and staff were able to assist in your experience to Campbell River. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Next time you visit you will be able to enjoy our new flat screen tvs complete with HDTV in every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    113
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
91
109
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We basically lived in 2 attached rooms with kitchens for about a month while we waited to get into our house. The rooms had two queen beds upstairs in a loft area and then downstairs was the bathroom ( sucks in the night) pull out couch and kitchen. There were 2 tvs on each side. The kitchens weren't really kitchens like you'd think. Our oven knob was gone (room 307) which meant no cooking on that side. The fridge was also broken so a small mini bar fridge was sitting along side of this. Basically the sink, oven and fridge is one unit (installed many many years ago) which was why they hadn't just replaced it- the burners were the only thing left working. So we did the cooking on the other side. Having 3 boys though I wish this was mentioned when we booked it as we probably would have gone elsewhere. Cooking meals in a mini (i mean mini) oven took forever. we did it in cycles!!! These were their only 2 rooms with kitchens that attached. The larger suite was booked. The original plan was to use both ovens at the same time because we saw that they were small when we checked out the room BEFORE booking it. perhaps they could have mentioned that at that time.

The very nice maintenance worker tracked down a microwave so we could speed thing up- this caused the breaker to blow every single time we used it though - lol.
The housekeeping staff and front desk staff were very friendly. The view is gorgeous with the sea walk right across the street. The breakfast couldn't have been any better. They had everything you could want in the morning. This wasn't just a continental breakfast. It was the full meal deal.
The town is just a 5 min drive away along the ocean. The pool is also ok. Kinda echoes in there so if you have sensitive ears be warned. The weight room is great too!!! All the machines and a tv that swivels. I used it often.
There isn't any air conditioning in the rooms so just know that it gets pretty stuffy - especially after a shower cause there seems to be no air vents in the bathroom for some reason.
I'd stay here again if I didn't need a kitchenette - that was the biggest disappointment of the room (307) being that we had to be there for so long.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We identify that our kitchenettes do require some updates and we are well on our way through the planning phase of this. We will be installing new granite counter tops, complete with a two burner ceramic cooktops, new microwave in each kitchenette, mini fridge and updated electrical to solve the issue of the breaker. We have also installed brand new flat screen tvs complete with HDTV.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Staying here for 7 nts from the UK as we write this review. Stayed for 5 nts in Sept 2011 vowing would stay here if we came back to Campbell River....and we did. So I guess for 7 nts it's more like a home than just a hotel room.

Pro's

Rooms comfortable and spacious (chalet style room on 3rd floor facing ocean)
Basic but efficient kitchen area
Good shower and bathroom
Great beds, large and you get a good nights sleep
Excellent choice of cooked or healthy breakfast with great sausage patties - get fat or stay slim....you decide
Excellent self-service launderette for washing and drying clothes
Parking no problem

Cons

Need a more comfortable sofa
Cleaners need to be prompted to replenish toilet roll, bathroom soaps, etc
Could do with more up to date TV - not essential

Overall, yes it's basic in parts but it's very quaint and very comfortable. Yes there is some road noise but it's very bearable even with the patio door open. Would definitely stay here again.....






Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It is always great to hear from our return guests! We are pleased to hear you extended your stay this trip and enjoyed it even more. For your next stay you will be happy to know that we are in the works of replacing all of our sofas in the rooms and putting in new flat screen tvs. We look forward to your return, safe travels home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, room basic but large and clean with comfy bed. Friendly staff with evening meal recommendations. It is not that close to the town centre so may not be the best choice if you don't want to drive in the evenings for food etc. Free breakfast also nice at this price level

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure reading how our guests enjoyed their stay and use your feedback to make ourselves better for your next stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western hotel and were very pleased. We enjoyed the location since it is right across the street from the beach where we saw some gorgeous sunrises. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local information and the breakfast was very tasty - I especially liked the omelets! It was very clean and spacious and we got a good deal since we were staying for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out all the different deals while making reservations online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. We are fortunate to have such beautiful views! We provide a full continental breakfast each morning, so I’m happy to hear you had a chance to take advantage of this service. We hope you return to Campbell River again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose the BW in Campbell River as, at the time, it was rated #1 in TA and we were attracted by the photos on its website. The reality proved less enticing as it is now rather old fashioned and faded, though trying its hardest to keep up with the times. Its called BW Plus and, to be fair, it does outdo comparably priced motels in that it has an indoor pool, some gym equipment and a much better complementary buffet breakfas than the average - real hot food and space to sit outside and see the ocean (and the traffic). Our room was in two parts - an upstairs and downstairs- so massive storage but noisy air con (we used the fans in the end) and a cheapish duvet and pillows. We had asked for an ocean view and I suppose we got one if you looked sidewise from the balcony. The main downside is that it is right on the main road and the traffic noise is incessant. Also, it's on the outskirts of Campbell River so to get to a half decent restaurant you have to drive. We had a drink at the pub next door but it was so awful we beat a hasty retreat. Instead we ate at the Painters Lodge which definitely should have been a TA #1 as it was beautiful with excellent dining and bar facilities and (according to people we spoke to there) really good rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is an older property but clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is small but has a good view to the waterway. We actually got to watch whales in the distance while enjoying the good continental breakfast provided. The room was a 2 queen bed kitchenette, with an obstructed view of the sea. Beds and linens were comfortable and good quality, however the kitchenette lacked a microwave and was a bit skimpy on the types of plates and dishes provided. The sound proofing isn't great so would recommend booking the top floor facing the sea, as you can hear your neighbors above. A bit pricey however for the size and quality of the rooms in comparison to other Best Westerns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our property has been a part of Campbell River for a number of years however our staff members strieve on keeping it in great condition and provide comfortable guest rooms. We do have a great location for our breakfast room with the view, however we are looking at options to expand the space for the compfort of our guests. Next time you are visiting us please ask us if we have any rooms available with a non-obstructed view of the ocean. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your sleep in our new beds and linen, we had just replaced them all this spring. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***NOTICE** OUR POOL WILL BE DOWN FOR ANNUAL MAINTENANCE FROM MAY 1 2015 TO MAY 20 2015. Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.