We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Campbell River
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“good value budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, room basic but large and clean with comfy bed. Friendly staff with evening meal recommendations. It is not that close to the town centre so may not be the best choice if you don't want to drive in the evenings for food etc. Free breakfast also nice at this price level

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure reading how our guests enjoyed their stay and use your feedback to make ourselves better for your next stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    80
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
65
78
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western hotel and were very pleased. We enjoyed the location since it is right across the street from the beach where we saw some gorgeous sunrises. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local information and the breakfast was very tasty - I especially liked the omelets! It was very clean and spacious and we got a good deal since we were staying for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out all the different deals while making reservations online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. We are fortunate to have such beautiful views! We provide a full continental breakfast each morning, so I’m happy to hear you had a chance to take advantage of this service. We hope you return to Campbell River again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose the BW in Campbell River as, at the time, it was rated #1 in TA and we were attracted by the photos on its website. The reality proved less enticing as it is now rather old fashioned and faded, though trying its hardest to keep up with the times. Its called BW Plus and, to be fair, it does outdo comparably priced motels in that it has an indoor pool, some gym equipment and a much better complementary buffet breakfas than the average - real hot food and space to sit outside and see the ocean (and the traffic). Our room was in two parts - an upstairs and downstairs- so massive storage but noisy air con (we used the fans in the end) and a cheapish duvet and pillows. We had asked for an ocean view and I suppose we got one if you looked sidewise from the balcony. The main downside is that it is right on the main road and the traffic noise is incessant. Also, it's on the outskirts of Campbell River so to get to a half decent restaurant you have to drive. We had a drink at the pub next door but it was so awful we beat a hasty retreat. Instead we ate at the Painters Lodge which definitely should have been a TA #1 as it was beautiful with excellent dining and bar facilities and (according to people we spoke to there) really good rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valemount
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is an older property but clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is small but has a good view to the waterway. We actually got to watch whales in the distance while enjoying the good continental breakfast provided. The room was a 2 queen bed kitchenette, with an obstructed view of the sea. Beds and linens were comfortable and good quality, however the kitchenette lacked a microwave and was a bit skimpy on the types of plates and dishes provided. The sound proofing isn't great so would recommend booking the top floor facing the sea, as you can hear your neighbors above. A bit pricey however for the size and quality of the rooms in comparison to other Best Westerns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our property has been a part of Campbell River for a number of years however our staff members strieve on keeping it in great condition and provide comfortable guest rooms. We do have a great location for our breakfast room with the view, however we are looking at options to expand the space for the compfort of our guests. Next time you are visiting us please ask us if we have any rooms available with a non-obstructed view of the ocean. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your sleep in our new beds and linen, we had just replaced them all this spring. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Best Western Austrian Chalet is at a beautiful location right on the seafront just south of Campbell River. A walkway runs right in front of the Chalet and follows the shoreline for several kilometers. The breakfast room and outdoor eating tables face the sea and the food is really excellent-they even have a waffle maker along with a great selection of other breakfast foods. Our room was on the ground level and featured a minigolf and pingpong table just outside, not to mention close proximity to the fitness centre, indoor pool and hottub and many other facilities. The garden is so very beautiful and the flower boxes outside each unit were gorgeous!!

Room Tip: The room we had on the ground level was perfect for my husband who has some mobility issues and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It is always great to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay and have taken the time to provide feedback. We are fortunate to have such a beatiful location here in Campbell River. Over looking the ocean and having your coffee and breakfast in the morning on a sunny day how can you beat that!! We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the use of our mini golf and ping pong table, always good for some entertainment. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and made it home safe. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were just passing through and needed somewhere to stay for the one night. This place was ok, but nothing very special. The areas that we were in were looking pretty dated and in need of refurbishment. There was a sort of a view of the water, but the downside of that is the road which was a little noisy .... whether this bothers you may depend on whether you just stayed somewhere noisy (like Vancouver, say) or somewhere really quiet (like the North of the island).

We didn't have time to sample the breakfast so can't comment on that.

Overall, just ok - no complaints but nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. Sorry to hear that you're stay was only "ok". Our staff work hard at providing an enjoyable stay while you visit us here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. We are also in the stages of moving forward with room rennovations. We look forward to the next time you are passing through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Forget about asking for or paying more an ocean front view. That was a disappointment. The view is horrible and unless you count telephone pole wires as a view don't book here for a view. If we pass through here again we'll go to travel lodge who had a better view and better prices.

The room was nice although the air conditioner was a tiny half foot square in the ceiling that was so loud it was deafening. It didn't do enough on it's own until I went into the closet and dug out a rotating fan. After that it wasn't so bad. They'd known we were coming for a good 8 hours or so and yet nobody turned on the air before we arrived. We arrived to a warm sticky room that took an hour too cool off.

Other then that the free newspaper was not a local one but the globe and mail. Kinda defeats the purpose of a free newspaper. I don't care what's going on in Cuba etc when I'm on vacation I want LOCAL NEWS ONLY. Swimming pool was awesome as was the hot tub, sauna and exercise room. The mini putt, although amusing for children and understandable it really was just a waste of space that could be used for much more interesting things. The attached independent bar/restaurant had a rough local feel and the food was passable, barely.

We actually enjoyed our room. The tv had the right channels and the bed was comfortable no complaints there. It wasn't a bad place. I'd have put the pool in back and the hotel in front and done away with that mini putt myself. Anyway it's worth it if you can talk them down a bit in price otherwise book at travel lodge or even some of the smaller motels have nice ocean front views. Don't even bother to drink out of the glasses. Like most hotels We've been too the glasses are so dirty they are to be avoided without a serious cleaning effort first.

Parking was close to the door and therefore pretty secure. We had the biggest room and for 155 a night [that we got it for] it was a good value. Overkill for a couple with no kids but perfect if you have them and or wish to cook or serve food in the suite. The pop machine had the coldest pop I've ever gotten from a machine, Was really thirst quenching which was needed as the room was hot on arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. You bring up a good point about the A/C turning it on before guests arrive, I will bring this up with the housekeeping staff. With the mini-golf it is a huge hit for the familys, however like you mention it's not for everyone! We do have a great pool which is open all year round. I'm sorry you only got the Globe and Mail, we do bring in a local paper as well however it must of been out when you came in. I'm happy to hear over all you had an enjoyable stay and found the beds to be comfortable. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Our pool/sauna will be down April 14th to May 31, 2014** Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.