We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Harbour B&B

Save Saved
You added Hidden Harbour B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hidden Harbour B&B
57 Murphy Street, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1Y3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Campbell River B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Hidden Harbour. Jurgen was home to greet us upon arrival and after a complete tour he gave us a map of the city and indicated a variety of things to do. We were very grateful as we had nothing planned. We enjoyed borrowing the bikes for the day and dipping into the hot tub at night. The neighbourhood is very calm and peaceful yet close to downtown. Jurgen and Inge kindly let us use their kitchen for dinner and they insisted that we help ourselves to anything we needed. The breakfasts were delicious! There was a huge selection that could satisfy anyone’s desires. We were very impressed by the attention to detail: a special individual greeting on the door, a daily morning message at breakfast indicating the day’s weather, breakfast menu and a farewell on the last day. We felt very comfortable and at ease in their beautiful home and we highly recommend Hidden Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheatley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed with Jurgen & Inge on a family vacation with my parents. We arrived early in the afternoon & were thrilled that Jurgen left his place of business downtown to come to the house and check us in early. There was a 'welcome' sign personalized for us on the B&B door downstairs - which was something we had never seen before. The hot tub was relaxing and the housecoats & slippers were additionally appreciated. We watched a fawn & two little deer playing in the yard while we sat in the hot tub overlooking the lights on the water. It was breath-taking! For breakfast, there was a mixture of several different kinds of foods so you had plenty of choices and no reason to leave hungry. The vanilla tea that I had was delicious and Inge even gave me a small sampler container to take home - how thoughtful!! We would definitely recommend staying at this B&B and enjoyed the hosts who went out of their way to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just back from exploring northern end of vancouver island. Our last stay was at the Hidden Harbour in Campbell River. After reading the reviews on TA we were quite disappointed with our stay for the following reasons:

There is the use of a hot tub and bikes which was nice. The downside for us was the unfrienldy German owners. As an example, other guests came while the owners were away in town running their other business, so we took the names and passed them along to the owners so they would get the business. Not so much as a thank you ,and the wife's comment was ..":If they have money, we take them". Not very classy.

This is the only B&B we have stayed at that doesn't provide any soap. In hindsight I supposed we should have asked for some but we chose not to. Perhaps they just forgot - but it was annoying when it came time for a shower (in need of some repair).

The breakfast was large - but unusual. Different types of salmon, assorted cheeses and some kind of meat rolls. The muffins were store bought and stale. Coffee came with breakfast, but no tea. When I asked ,I was brought a pot of some unusual tea and so I asked if I could have a cup or regular tea, it was brought by what appeared to be a very annoyed host who dropped it off without a word.

We have stayed at many B & B's over the past 30 years and have never encountered a place that felt so unfriendly.

As, mentioned the amenities were good, but I would definitely not redcommed this B&B - there are just too many other good ones available.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddenharbour, Owner at Hidden Harbour B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
We'd like to stick with the facts: We always offer shower gels for men as well as for women, as well as a soap dispenser on the sink. Also Advil which might have helped seeing those items. No sign found that the shower needs repair. Our tea of choice is the Roibos Tea, known and liked by all tea drinkers. Yes, we forgot to serve the tea at first, but "unfriendly German hosts", in the context of all the overwhelmingly positive customer comments in TA and guest book tells more about the writer than the B&B. Inge & Jurgen Kettler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We loved this B & B. Inge & Jurgen were so pleasant and helpful with everything. If was so comfortable and easy to call home for 6 days. The daily breakfast were "Fit for a Queen". I am hopefully going back again this year to do some Salmon Fishing, cycling and visit the World Famous market.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alice, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights there for our anniversary during an INSANE heat wave last summer. First of all, the breakfast was AMAZING! We had kiesh, fruit salad, Jurgen's famous spinach dip, it was my favorite part of the day :) Unfortunately the room (the discovery suite) didn't have air conditioning, but we didn't hold it against them since all the air conditioners had been bought out on the entire island that week. We loved Hidden Harbour, it was very modern and classy compared to a lot of other B&B's. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

What made our stay so delightful was our hosts who went out of their way to help us regroup after our kayaking trip. The views of Cape Mudge from the living room are outstanding. The breakfast and dinner they prepared were excellent rivaling anything we have eaten in New York. Inge and Jergin pampered us, and are what make the Hidden Harbor exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

This personable B&B has a great location, with views over the inner channel from the bedroom. Try to get the Discovery Suite, which is very spacious - 2 double bedrooms, kitchen and prvate bathroom. The hosts are top notch, particularly by dealing with queries, and presenting a superb breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Harbour B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Harbour B&B

Address: 57 Murphy Street, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Campbell River on Vancouver Island, on the West Coast of Canada, features more than 10 km of shoreline and is the recreational hub for the central and north island! The Hidden Harbour B&B, surrounded by colourful gardens, is overlooking Discovery Passage - customers may enjoy their privacy, the unobstructed Ocean View, and all other amenities, just like in a shell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Harbour B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Harbour B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.