We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lions Head Smoke & Brew Pub

Lions Head Smoke & Brew Pub
2629 Broadwater Road | Robson, Castlegar, British Columbia V0G 1X0, Canada
+1 250-365-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Castlegar
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue, Healthy, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Great beer and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped in recently and were treated to lots of information about the various local beers that are offered. My husband tried the rack of 6 beers to see which one he preferred...what a great idea!! Our server took the time time to explain each beer that my husband tried. We tried both the smoked beef bones and brisket. We'd have to say the beef bones were far better. We enjoyed the corn bread that came with the meal. Overall, we'd recommend this pub!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you like a little spice in your life try the Chipolte Chicken Wrap. It is awesome. Went back for it a second time in two days stay in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Like a fine wine it, it gets better with age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I first went to the lionshead just after it first opened. They were only getting started but you could see the vision that the owners were trying to achieve: great craft beer, solid home cooked food, and a space that makes anyone feel like a local. Having just gone back for a visit, I would say that they are well on their way.
There was a wide selection of delicious beers I had never heard of, the food was well prepared from ingredients they try to source locally ( so the waitress told me), and people were rolling in and out, chatting with the staff and just enjoying the sunny day.

I did wait for my food but i wouldn't say it was an excessively long time. It takes time to produce food that you don't yank out of a microwave and i think lots of people are used to the Mcdonalds experience. I took that time to get some local knowledge on fishing spots and strategy, great hikes, events for the weekend, and enjoy my maple stout (and i remember the name cuz it was that good)

Having grown up in the area and relocated to the coast, im stoked to be able to go home and hang out in a place like this. I don't mean to pump their tires too much but you gotta give credit when its due. I would recommend going in and trying the beer sampler, try some new and different beers, push your boundaries, and watch out for the locals as some do bite ;) Thanks again to the lionshead staff for the pointers. Cheers - S

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent pub food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped in for a quick dinner and found the food and beer to be average. Feels like a dive bar that serves okay food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I didn't expect to find good food in a pub, but the BLT I ordered was great, as was the accompanying green salad. My 3 fellow foodies also thoroughly enjoyed their dishes. We tried a couple of their draft beer. The dark beer with a hint of chocolate was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lions Head Smoke & Brew Pub also viewed

Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Lions Head Smoke & Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lions Head Smoke & Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.