We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Windborne Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Windborne Bed and Breakfast
3900 Broadwater Road, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4V4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Castlegar B&B and Inns
Great Eccleston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I spent the night in the Moonlight Room on 29 September 2013. We try to use B&B accommodation as much as possible as the experience is far better than hotels.
All we can say is that Marc and Mirja have created an amazing place, the environment inside and out is so calming! Mirja’s art (displayed around the property) and Marc’s breakfast and attention to guests is excellent. The Moonlight Room provides everything you could want, a balcony, a wonderfully comfortable bed and what I can only describe as one of the best ensuites we have experienced in our travels – this was especially appreciated after spending the previous few days in the Selkirks wildlife watching, that level of luxury was bliss. For the normal European visitor (and I notice from the reviews here that it isn’t high on the usual Europeans tour list of locations) it came as a nice surprise to find this quality in a relatively industrial area of BC.
This brings me to a comment in defence of Marc and Mirja. Some reviews have been slightly scathing about the Celgar Pulp Mill opposite - I travel for business reasons and there are many 5* hotels that do not get comments about noisy location even when they are beside the freeway or in the middle of downtown! We did not find fumes or noise from the mill any problem at all. In this life perfection in every way is impossible, Marc and Mirja have far exceeded what could be expected in such a location, achieving near perfection (yes, I only marked 4/5 for location but this was more the visual aspect of the mill distracting from the river and the other views!)
Would we stay here again? Without a doubt if travelling through this area again we will.
Would I recommend to others? Yes, this is amongst the best quality and value B&B’s around, if you need to stay in or around Castlegar this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Wow! Thank you for giving us this excellent review. Its reviews like this that makes us glad we run a B&B. We look forward to visiting again on any future trips back to this side of the pond. Happy trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
84
14
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I arrived at the Windborne B & B and felt instantly at home. The Host Marc Conacher was welcoming and a great cook. I loved the post and beam design of the home and the way the kitchen is in the center so you can chat while your breakfast is prepared. The beds were comfy and the little extras - towels shaped like animals, candies on the pillows, beautiful art work made me want to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you felt at home. We get a lot of comments on our towel animals. The elephant is a sign of good luck. This animal towel is our way of wishing each and every guest who stays with us the best of luck in everything they do. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Windborne B&B in conjunction with an art class being offered in the in-site studio by B&B owner, Mirja Vahala. The experience was a 5/5 on all accounts! The B&B itself is beautiful and comfortable, and the breakfast Marc made was amazing. Likewise, the art class was informative and fun. You won't find better hosts than Marc and Mirja, and as art instructors go Mirja is the best. A fantastic art retreat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write this excellent review. We are very glad you enjoyed your breakfast and your art retreat.We look forward to seeing you at future art retreats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed in Castlegar plenty of times and there isn't much in the way of anything other than low budget motel grade hotels. We booked the WindBourne B&B for one night. Not only was it a beautiful timber frame open concept home on the river, our room was modern and decorated like I did it myself. Marc, our house was very friendly and made us a delicious candied salmon scramble with fresh fruit and great coffee with frothed milk. Marc's wife is an artist and has some of her work in the home and has her studio downstairs which they were happy to let us explore. The room rate was very much the same as staying at the local hotels in the area BUT of so much nicer quality and value. We will choose to stay there anytime we return to Castlegar and would recommend it to anyone headed that way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this excellent review. We are glad you liked our open floor concept and felt comfortable here. You were great house guests as we enjoyed talking with you and look forward to visiting again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crete, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice B&B with friendly hosts, nice rooms, very modern. Very good breakfast keep it up Marc.It is very easy to find, View of Columbia River is nice. If you are looking for a meal in Castelgar, be sure to check out the Chopsticks Chinese restaurant very good food,
Frank & Eva La-Crete Ab

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you didn't have a problem finding us. There are some very good restaurants in this town. We are glad you enjoyed Chopstickes. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very nice B&B with friendly hosts, nice rooms, very modern. It is fairly easy to find, even on a dark and stormy night. View of Columbia River is nice. If you are looking for a meal in Castelgar, be sure to check out the restaurant reviews. There are some decent pubs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. Even on a dark and stormy night We are glad you found us and had a nice time staying with us. I hope you didn't get side lined because of the avalanche at trout lake. We look forward to seeing you next ski trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Windborne was our first experience lodging at a B & B! The value for dollar compared to a hotel room was remarkable! The Moonlight Suite was enchanting and very comfortable. The attention to detail in designing and decorating the rooms was impressive. Our hosts were gracious and genial. The breakfast was delicious, a great taste treat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you liked the attention to detail in the designing and decorating of the house. It was the best job in the world being on the building crew during the construction of our B&B. Mirja and RCI Construction did an amazing job of designing the house. We look forward to any return visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windborne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3900 Broadwater Road, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Windborne Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windborne Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.