We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michaels

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Michaels
1432 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 365-8308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 39 restaurants in Castlegar
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Astounding stained glass collection creates unique atmosphere for a jewell of a restaurant in a town without expectations. Great value, tasty, varied menu and terrific service. Best pizza ever! Great ceasar salad

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    4
    5
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice lunch menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I took my mother to Michael's lunch and was quite pleased with their menu, service, and the meal. A year and half ago I went here for lunch and didn't think it would be a place that I would return to but a did change my mind and gave it another chance. The special was beef dip and that was the dish I had before and could not eat so this time ordered something else. My mother ordered a shrimp crepe with ceasar salad and I ordered crap crepe with ceasar salad. They wasn't much for crap in my crepe, mainly mushrooms but my mother's crepe had lots of shrimp. Ceasar salad was OK. Service was good and the waitress was very pleasant. I would go here again but would be selective. These new owners, their cooks, and their menu just cannot fit into the shoes of Gabe.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Like It Used To Be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

For those of us whom remember Gabe's, this is not the same. Quality is greatly lacking from the restaurant we often frequent. It USED to be the best place in Castlegar. Now BBQ ribs are small and dry. The serving of spaghetti feels like it was made for a child and the veggies are saturated in oils. Mousse was too buttery. If I wasn't there for a gathering, I would have asked for my money back, or at least told the owner how horrible this is.

I'm sure out-of-towners will find it satisfactory but please - its not like it used to be.

I miss going to Gabe's on a regular basis. I would recommend the Greek Oven or traveling the extra 1/2 hour to eat from one of Nelson's wonderful places.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
“Great food, wonderful people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife Sue and I were looking for a "non-hotel" food experience in Castlegar, B.C. We thought we would try "Cafe Michael" as it looked interesting from the outside. Once inside we found a great menu, the ower Diane Wong and her staff were delightful and our meal was excellent. The Caesar salad was the best ever, the Greek ribs, according to Sue, were the tastiest she has ever had and my New Orleans garlic prawns were a taste treat to be remembered. The decor was fun and well thought out. We wish they were closer to home, but, we will find a reason to travel through Castlegar again, just to sample more of the "Michaels" experience. Thanks, Diane and Landon: George and Sue Gray.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

On our drive through the Crowsnest, we stopped in Castlegar for a break and found a delightful restaurant Cafe Michael. Lunch was great. I highly recommend the Caesar salad with anytime you have. It was excellent. The decor was beautiful with lots of stained glass separating several rooms. We hope to stop there again soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michaels also viewed

Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
 
Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Michaels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.