We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non pretentious but very nice food at resonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Grill

Union Street Grill
477 5th St, Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 897-0081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in Courtenay
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Todos Santos, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Non pretentious but very nice food at resonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

For a Saturday evening we went back to the U.Street Grill and had no trouble finding a table right away. Prompt service landed us each a small started salad, one Ceasar and one Spinach. Both very fresh and excellently made-up. We decided for a pasta main-dish and to our surprise, it was as good as what we usually have at Toscanos, the little Italian restaurant in Comox.
Friendly service, good food and a pleasant atmosphere! We will be back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandDanielle_11, Owner at Union Street Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments. We really appreciate it!
Mark & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Highly reccomended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Have eaten here twice before and am consistently impressed with the place. The servers are super accommodating and the menu is a tough one to choice from! It's a great mix of meat-lover and vegetarian options & they even have a gluten free menu! The Vegan Chili was amazing and I've been told the Salmon Fish Tacos are to die for! I hope to return to try the mushroom burger. Overall was highly impressed with Union Street!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandDanielle_11, Owner at Union Street Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
thank you so much for your great review! We can't tell you much it satisfies our egos! :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, BC Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Grill or The Grotto - both great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had dinner at The Grotto side (they have two section, The Grill, casual counter service, and the Grotto which has table service, same menu both sides) and was thoroughly impressed. The food was great and the service top notch. Have eaten on the Grill side as well and the food and service was just as good. Always a go to place in Courtenay, for either something casual or a little more formal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandDanielle_11, Owner at Union Street Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fresh taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wonderful fresh sandwiches and drinks with great service and friendly staff! Close to little shops and services, easy to walk to form hotels.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandDanielle_11, Owner at Union Street Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A GREAT place to eat in Courtenay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Union Street Grill was recommended to us by a lady in a book store. She was right about the restaurant and we enjoyed our lunch very much. I had gyro-something pita with a green salad and it was scrumptious! My husband had the small Caesar salad with chicken and garlic bread...and he really enjoyed his lunch too. This was the first time we'd been to the older part of Courtenay...we're usually heading from the airport in Comox directly to Parksville so we enjoyed a leisurely walk around 5th and 6th Streets window-shopping on a windy rainy day. Topping it off with lunch at the Union Street Grill was perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandDanielle_11, Owner at Union Street Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Street Grill also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Union Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.