We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Grill

Union Street Grill
477 5th St, Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 897-0081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in Courtenay
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have been there a couple of times for lunch and have enjoyed it each time. The food is good, the selection is good and the service has been good. Will go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
1 review
“Delicious and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Union Street Grill continually serves up superb dishes with a local spin keeping things fresh and well thought out. Combine this with a decent wine list and and bistro next door for special coffees and after dinner local live entertainment and you have a great dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“excellent food, excellent service, poor management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

i love the food and all the gluten free choices, but hate the way the management forces the wait staff to take food orders in the order people sat down, not in the order of who is ready to place an order. as such you can wait 30 minutes before ever ordering if a party of 6 sits down a second before you and can't make up their minds! infuriating! i have had this experience repeatedly, and i feel sorry for the wait staff having to constantly apologize that they can't place an order until 3 tables before you make up their minds.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandDanielle_11, Owner at Union Street Grill, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello Melia. Thanks for your comments regarding our restaurant. We work very hard on making sure the food and ambience are things people enjoy. With regards to the system we have for taking customer orders, I'm surprised that you would have an issue with us taking orders from guests as they sit. It's not that we have a "rule" about that, it's just that's its a good service practice. If we responded to everyone who said they were ready to order, our poor servers would be bouncing all over the place. We are a very busy restaurant, and a lot of our customers know what they are having before they arrive. It just wouldn't be fair if people were bumped to the head of the line. I'm sure you wouldn't appreciate it if a table or two had their orders taken and were eating before you even though they arrived after. Also, when a server has a table of 6, he/she has to plan when they take the order as it could take 10 minutes, leaving all those other guests waiting. But, having said that, the server never waits 30 minutes to take orders. If all the guests have not arrived, I could see it, but we are very efficient. Again, thanks for your positive comments and I'm sorry that you feel that our management is lacking. Sincerely, Mark & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really appreciate the Union Street Grill's dedication to fresh ingredients, locally-sourced wherever possible, and that they are very conscious of food allergies/intolerances. I feel safe eating here an always welcome. Also enjoy the special menus they provide for various events throughout the year - the wild mushroom bruschetta and the taco salad were amazing! Hope they become regular features.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Local food, local people..great times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

For years, Union Street Grill was my go-to spot for lunch. Now that I work in a different town, I mostly go for dinner. The service is always good, friendly, efficient and fast. The food is excellent and has a great local flavour. I'd highly recommend Union Street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Street Grill also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Union Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.