We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big patio, good bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fluid Bar and Grill

Fluid Bar and Grill
1175 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K2, Canada
+1 250-338-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 109 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Fusion, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“big patio, good bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

they have a large patio and nice interior, but for me it is just a bar and grill. The bar food is good so I recommend lunch on the patio on warm sunny days.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A situation done bad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed a fine meal at Fluid three days ago but when it came time to pay the tab things went sour. A friend had two $10 gift certificates that she was lucky enough to win at her office Christmas party. Apparently when the company purchased the certificates the employee at the restaurant had dated them 2013, for when they were purchased. The waiter advised my friend that they could not be used as the date was wrong, fine so far. She asked to see the manager, calmly and politely to sort out the problem.The table was approached by a man who introduced himself as Brandon, one of the owners. He was obviously angry from the get-go, claiming the certificates were only good for a limited time. My friend explained that according to the stamp they were good for another six weeks and that they had been purchased just before Xmas by her firm for the Xmas party. Brandon refused to accept this and became more confrontational, claiming he would have to go "all the way down" to the basement and dig out the books to confirm the correctness of the statement and he was too busy. For a small confusion over $20 he offended 6 people, most of whom will not return. Maybe customer service is not such an easy thing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had a family birthday dinner. The service was abrupt and robotic. While it is nice to see that they no longer hire servers simply for being tall blonde and pretty; last night's waiter could use a dash of personality. The restaurant was not overly busy but there were long delays between his visits to our table as well as a long delay to finally receive our food. 6 of the 7 meals were alright, however my husbands steak which was ordered medium well was medium on one side and rare on the other. Unfortunately this restaurant never quite lives up to expectations .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Brunch..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went for brunch at Fluid in between Christmas and New Years, and I was not that impressed with the service or the food.. For starters the server told us there would be a 20 minute extra wait for food.. we told her that was fine, however it ended up taking over an hour to get our food from ordering. And when we got it it was only average.. not much flavour and nothing you couldn't whip up at home.. We had a benny, GF "bun", which turned out to just be soggy toast, which if I had of known it was just going to be bread I would have ordered something else..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had 8 people (ages 73-14) on a Friday night .We arrived at 6 and we ordered drinks which were delivered within a short time even tho the place was packed. We then ordered and within half an hour we all had our meals.Everyone was very impressed.One ordered blue rare steak and she said it was done perfectly and very tender.My wife and I ordered ribs which we both thought were delicious and falling off the bones. All in all the service was excellent, the meal delicious. Our only (complaint) would be was that it was very noisy but it was a Friday night and the place was packed so I guess we could expect it to be loud.Overall we were all impressed and would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fluid Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Fluid Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fluid Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.