We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a picture of George's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's Food Bar

George's Food Bar
540 Comox Rd, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 3P6, Canada
(250) 334-2557
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 120 Restaurants in Courtenay
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not a picture of George's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

George's "joint" is a little hole in the wall next to a pizza place. NOT the place pictured!

I have to have a minimum of 100 characters so here goes - if you don't mind standing outside on the sidewalk for the best burger in Courtenay, that's all the atmosphere you'll experience @ George's.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Van Isle, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Georges ... experienced now by four generations in our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's not a secret to home-town Comox Valley folks but perhaps is to those passing through town. If you're looking for simplicity and perfection at it's best when it comes to burgers, look no further than his little take-away joint. As a child, it was always such a treat to charge over to Georges while the folks were busy with baseball/soccer at Lewis Park. 35+ years and my order is still the same as it was then ... Cheeseburger, fries and a root bear milkshake. Instead of George at the grill, his sons are there and they know the family secret to burger perfection. Don't be alarmed if nothing is written down, their memory is uncanny. Once your order is up, you then pay. My parents introduced my siblings and I to Georges who have in-turn introduced our children to Georges and we're now onto our children's' children.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Combo Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I just don't think you need to say more, but you need to in order to submit a review. They're just THE BEST!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you want a delicious burger, freshly made to order then this is where you want to go. I have had the Chinese food a couple of times but and it is good however, combo with cheese is my fav choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are looking for a real good old fashioned burger, fries & a shake, this is the place. The combo is sort of a stand-up Tomahawk burger (those who know, know). If you don't mind that George, or whoever he is inside the window, doesn't really speak except to tell you how much your meal is, then good. If you don't mind that you either eat in your car or go elsewhere to enjoy, then that's good also. If you don't mind that it's cash only, then it's really a great joint.

There's also a limited Chinese menu but I can't get past ordering the burger. When I do, I'll let you know about that also

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Food Bar also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to George's Food Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Food Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.