We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar

The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar
1089 Braidwood Road, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 3S1, Canada
+1 250-871-7292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 120 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carp, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was the third time we have eaten at Prime and it gets better each time. We had burgers and beers on the "pub" side and we were not disappointed. The burger was huge and delicious, and the winter ale was ice cold! Doesn't get much better than that! Service was prompt and friendly. Recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    21
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Three of us enjoyed our meals. We all had beef: one filet, one prime rib, one sirloin. Each of us was impressed by the food, but there were some issues with food temperature. The wine list was extensive and prices were reasonable.

The service was attentive without bing intrusive, and the atmosphere was great for a dinner out with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bay, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“The Prime Chophouse Covers all the Bases”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was a belated special Valentine dinner out for my sweetheart Jan and myself. We were impressed with the outdoor fireplace focal point as we entered the parking lot. I had made reservations and we got right in with a host and taken to a nice table location. All staff that attended to our table was very polite and helpful. Especially our personel server Danielle who explained different wines on the list and took our wine order to start off the experience there. Then she returned shortly with our wine and took our meal order. That too was served in a reasonable time. My sweetheart had the 8 oz. Sirloin Steak medium rare with nice fresh garden vegies. The only dis-satisfaction was that the cheif had put an excess amount of seasoning salt on the top of the steak, which made it very salty of course and had to be scraped off. I had the Chrispy Salmon, and it was cooked very nice and had fresh cut lengths of steamed carrots and cube cut parsnip with a whiped mildly seasoned mashed potatoe. Jan asked for a glass of water and Danielle promptly returned with two glasses with ice in them and small brown straws, which Jan commented that her lipstick wouldn't be removed on the glass. We were very pleased with our dinner experience and staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic, Beautiful dining room, and amazing Food. Highly recommend, no other place like it on the North Island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The dining options are amazing weather for a date or for accommodating large group. Private room in the back with drop down screen was great to watch the game with my hockey team. Servers were on it, easy on the eyes and our drinks were never empty. Very impressed, didn't think I would see big city service and style in the North Island. Great Job Prime!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to Prime last night for a Valentine dinner , we wanted to check it out since it opened last summer but were put of by all the negative reviews . So we went and what a disappointment ! The building is beautiful and west coast. the interior while modern and dark is boring if feels like a very large dark conference room . No art no color no charm . The food was pricey . We had the crab cakes they were mealy with not much crab to be found . It took over 1 hour for our main course to arrive by that time we were almost finished with our bottle of wine . My husband had the chicken breast meal with mashed potatoes the chicken looked like a piece of plastic and tasted like nothing . I had the 8 oz sirloin with peppercorn sauce and frites , my steak was okay having it sitting on top of a mountain of matchsticks fries was very awkward , try to cut a steak with fries flying all over the place ? Both our plates had a side of vegetables that was revolting carotts,pepper and cauliflowers that appear to be coming out of a steam bag and sprayed with oil . How about grilling some veggies with a little shake of herbs ....well that would be out of the " box" . Nedless to say we didn't make it to the desert menu and I am sure we didn't miss anything . The service was ok . The only good thing was the wine list .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.