We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfasts and gluten free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hen and Hog Cafe

The Hen and Hog Cafe
1190 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K1, Canada (Formerly Ohhh So Yummy Cafe)
+1 250-871-7001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 124 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great breakfasts and gluten free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

great food with a touch of mexican. The corn cakes with eggs and bacon is a great way to avoid gluten. I get beans instead of potatoes with corn tortillas.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious scratch made breakfast and lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

One of the best breakfasts I've had anywhere. Lovingly prepared homemade food streams out if the tiny kitchen and is served by the super friendly owner. It's obvious they really care.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband has been to this cafe a couple of times so when it was my birthday he asked if i would like to go for brunch. He ordered an omelet and I decided on crepes. The crepes were wonderful with a variety of fresh fruit and whip cream, all gorgeously displayed on my plate. Delicious!! My husband enjoyed his omelet and he said it was awesome. We were served by who I assume is the owner. Great service, warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend this Cafe and am looking forward to our next visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
“Best Eggs Benny in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Amazing little cafe! They offer great gluten free options and they make three different types of hollandaise sauce - normal, curry and chipotle (which is amazing).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Always warm and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm a local and always take visitors here. Dave and his staff are great. Funky place with great fresh food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hen and Hog Cafe also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to The Hen and Hog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hen and Hog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.