We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hen and Hog Cafe

The Hen and Hog Cafe
1190 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K1, Canada (Formerly Ohhh So Yummy Cafe)
+1 250-871-7001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 124 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
BC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Love the local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Ohhh So Yummy, is a great place to go for breakfast. The service is friendly, the food is really good, and some of it locally sourced. I've been there twice for breakfast and both times were impressed with the size of the meal and how good it was. You might be surprised to because you would never expect it judging from the outside of the place. It's located in a little motel.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a hidden gem in Courtenay. A small cozy diner with amazing food. The owner is the waiter and bartender he has a great personality and is very enthusiastic about what he and the staff do. The food is well made home style fare and the 3 different types of hollandaise are veryy good it was hard to pick one so he brought a trio for the benny. The eggs were cooked to perfection and placed on scratch made english muffins (they where perfect). The rest of the menu was diverse. I had the huevos rancheros they where awsome. The best part was the price was on point. I would recomend this diner to all of my friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ohhhh it was yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Love Eggs Benny for breakfast. This place was bang on. Hot, soft poached served on a thick slice of real ham. Nice choice of hollandaise. Good coffee. Hubby went mexican and very happy. We have just moved to town and will go back. Go - but don't go all at once. It is a small place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Raw Eggs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This restaurant came highly recommended from a friend. My eggs benedict came with eggs that were pretty much raw. The owner apparently didn't like the fact that I didn't want raw eggs and actually invited me to "never come back here again." This is the first time in all 46 years of my life that I have ever been so poorly treated after being served bad food. The correct response would have been to apologize. My friend told me the owner was the nicest person. My idea of nice and her idea of nice are apparently very different ideas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Homemade food with quality taste!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A little small seater restaurant at the end of a hotel (street side). The hollandaise sauce is wonderfully unique for the eggs benny (choose between regular, curry flavour, or chipolte). The name describes the food!!! It is "ohhh so yummy"! A good little mom-pop relaxed hip place, real homemade fresh food with good flavour. Only open for breakfast and lunch though but totally worth a visit. Prices are reasonable. Any age appropriate. A favorite breakfast spot!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hen and Hog Cafe also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to The Hen and Hog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hen and Hog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.