We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and relaxing place, great food and a wood fired pizza oven. The pizza is awsome handmade before you, and fresh.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Canoe West Coast Pub

Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
1590 Cliffe Avenue | BEST WESTERN PLUS The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
250 331 4006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 117 restaurants in Courtenay
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice and relaxing place, great food and a wood fired pizza oven. The pizza is awsome handmade before you, and fresh.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

great place,, Pizza is hand made and is fantastic great choice to eat and relax. the Bar is extensive list of drinks and fast service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear recyclejim,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate that you chose to eat with us and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our pub. We certainly hope to see you again soon.
Linda Bigelow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    7
    7
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food, not so good service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A group of friends and I were out to the Flying Canoe for the "Best Ceasar in Town" contest as well as the person below and had a very similar experience. Sounds like we were in the very same section at the same time. It was some of the worst service we ever had on every level.
We have been to the Flying Canoe in the past and found the service was very slow whether it is a slow or busy night. I have a feeling that these girls are hired with no experience and very little if any training. Walking by without acknowledgement upon arrival, little menu knowlege, slow food, no check backs until you are finished, other servers will walk by the table 20 times before helping each other or removing plates, you always have to ask for your bill which is usually wrong and there are no appologies for the constant lack of service or mistakes. This is so unfortuante because I'm sure the servers have it in them but they just have no skill as far as I and all the other people I was with, would say. Ambience is a 10 and so is the food but come on, put some effort into your customer service. I was a server for 15 years and I know I wasn't always good but I always believed in team work and looking out for each other. This place needs to take a day or two and teach all this staff how to work together and make happy customers or things will go right down the tubes. We left that night and got some amazing service from one of the girls at the Whistle Stop. We suggested she goes and trains at Flying Canoe. I'd hate to see this beautiful place go under as it has so much potential. Please fix this so we can come back again. At this point we won't be.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“just one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

well this is not the place for just one is were you go and sit and have some food and drink and a good time great place to leave all other stuff behind you..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comox valley, bc
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“had to go home and cook my own dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

went with a friend and my husband to see the "best caeser in town" competition. Arrived early enough to get a table but we were invisible to the very young server. The place was busy but it took her 25 minutes to come over and get a drink order from us. We also ordered the chicken wings (which tasted fine) but were dropped off by a porter with no napkins. My husband who came later had to go up to the bar to buy his beer. The server never checked on us and though we told her we wanted to order dinner after our wings. She never, ever came over to us. We had menus on our table. Our drinks were sitting empty for 40 minutes. So was everyone elses' around us She had a full section but absolutely no support and did not know what she was doing. We watched her take one drink order and then go wait at the bar for 10 min, before coming back to her section. We were there for almost 2 hours and made the decision to go home and cook for ourselves. So disappointed in the Flying Canoe. Really, you didn't think it was going to be busy? You gave your least experienced server 10 tables? The F&B manager was sitting with friends enjoying the evening. Hope she was off duty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm very sorry to read that we were not able to provide you with the experience you had expected and we apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying.
Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make your experience as positive and memorable as possible.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in some way in the future and would like you to contact myself or our Food & Beverage Manager Ben Frank.
Linda Bigelow, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Craft Beer Selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Really nice pup. Great ambiance, really nice craft beer selection from the island brewers. The staff were fun and chatty, and the food selection was exciting as well. Will be back!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Canoe West Coast Pub also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Flying Canoe West Coast Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.