We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit Cakebreads too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Chocolates

Hot Chocolates
368 5th Street, Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
250-338-8211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Courtenay
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert
Description: Hot Chocolates creates true artisan chocolates, each one hand dipped and unique.We have a large selection of truffles, fudge and barks, all handmade instore from premium ingredients. You will aslo find a large array of No Sugar Added products, hot & cold drinks, candies and fresh gelato & sorbetto, made onsite.
B.C.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“visit Cakebreads too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited Hot Chocolates and Cakebreads the day we were heading off for a holiday on Denman Island. We bought the wonderful pumpkin seed bread at the artisan bakery which is in the same shop as Hot Chocolates. We also bought croissants to eat for our lunch at the ferry dock. Delicious!
The chocolate shop had an amazing variety of chocolatest to tempt us. I tried the toffee truffles and found them to be a real treat. I am going to check out their on-line store at Christmas time and will visit them again next year when we return to Courtenay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“How can you pass up home made chocolates?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a must-visit in downtown Courtenay. As well as a variety of chocolates, they have great gelato and a seating area to enjoy both. Pastries and breads on the opposite side to the chocolate are mouth watering. Try the garlic bread.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love the chocolate! Coffee is good and fresh. The Cakes are amazing in taste, style and decoration! Makes an superb presentation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous lemon meringue cake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visited Courtenay two years ago and had the lemon meringue cake. Was fabulous. I have waited two years to come back and have it again. Absolute best!!! Also has a variety of other exceptional pastries, chocolates and gelato ice cream. One must visit Hot Chocolates in Courtenay when in the Comox Valley.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“With Chocolate On Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Never mind "a cherry on top" I'll take chocolate instead. This is a chocolate shop, but I most often am in there for a latte. I don't usually get chocolate on my foam, but here it's Hot Chocolates chocolate - gorgeous curls of handmade chocolate - "Yes, please!"

Their truffles are incredible. The chocolate covered ginger is another of my favourite treats. Here in the Comox Valley, a Hot Chocolate box is recognizable & is always a popular gift.

Along with chocolate & espresso drinks, there is also a gelato counter (super great flavours), and Cake Bread, the bakery in the same space, has scones, muffins, cookies, etc. So, while it's not a restaurant, there'll be a snack for everyone in your group.

I just pop in & out, but there is barstool seating as well as little bistro tables.

Charming shop & delicious offerings, this is a locals' favourite. If you're on Courtenay's 5th Street, it's a stop not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Chocolates also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Hot Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Chocolates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.