We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buckley Bay Beach House, Vancouver Island, BC.

Buckley Bay Beach House
Buckley Bay Beach House
Buckley Bay Beach House
View from deck
Hot tub
View from deck
Open plan living
Courtenay
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guus2013
Penticton, Canada
1 review
“relaxed stay at centrally-located beach house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a very nice house with all the amenities you want and a huge yard, bordering right on the beach, giving access to beach walks/combing, including oyster picking for the barbecue. We were able to eat picked oysters once, while later on during our stay unfortunately a ban was issued due to "red tide" (which happens occasionally). Because of an Island-wide fire ban, we were also unfortunately not able to use the fire pit on the beach. From the deck, and from the lovely hot tub, one has a sweeping view over the strait, looking towards Denman Island, just a few kilometers away, with a see-through towards the Strait of Georgia to the North. The location is also very central, 15 minutes drive from the three "C's" (charming Courtenay, Comox and Cumberland) and just half an hour/45 minutes drive from accesses to hikes in the magnificent Strathcona Park. At times, the road on which the property borders, can be a little noisy but this is not disturbing. The owners were very pleasant and gave some helpful tips as to nice walks, outings and nearby (gourmet) shops. Recommended!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: ocean/beach view and access, and quality of the house
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Eyedoc44
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I just got back from Buckley Bay Beach House 2 days ago. What a WONDERFUL place to stay. First of all, John & Sue were a delight to deal with! The house is great! Comfortable, fully equiped, beautiful relaxing view! This was our 2nd trip to Vancouver & Vancouver Island. Our 1st trip was in Victoria. Big(ger) city with everything you would expect in a metropolitan city. DO NOT expect this in Buckley Bay! You are almost 200 km away, but it is really worlds away! There is very little to none of the "big city" in or even around Buckley Bay. And that is EXACTLY what we wanted! It is quiet, peaceful, relaxing! You are 1 km from the ferry to Denman & Hornby Islands. You are 23 km from Courtney (Don't miss Locals at the Old House! See review!). There are GREAT farmers markets, and nice places to travel on a day trip (Mt. Washington Alpine Resort). But essentially nothing to do. And EXACTLY why we loved the area and staying at Buckley Bay Beach House. We WILL return and can highly recommend it as a rental!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, view
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jorjafox
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My sister hosted my stagette at the Buckley Bay Beach House. There were 8 of us women ranging in all sorts of ages. This place was perfect. It was spacious and comfortable. The property is amazing, even prettier than the pictures. The hot tub is a really nice addition! I would recommend this place to any one... couples, friends, ANYONE! Exceeded our expectations! :) Thank you. Also, the owners were extremely friendly and easy to get a hold of.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peaceful and the beauty of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Vancouver
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Larry
Georgia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Larry
Georgia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Eva
WA
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$129
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
John T
12503350350
Speaks English
Listed since : Dec 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing