We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new wing is fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1590 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“The new wing is fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The new wing was fabulous! Everyone was very impressed with the new rooms, they were wonderful. Also, the complimentary hot breakfast was both appreciated and quite tasty. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    106
    50
    17
    8
See reviews for
82
98
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

After reviewing other people's comments about the noise from the bridge, we called the hotel and was advised that those rooms are the Economy ones. The quieter rooms are the Standard or Premium. So we booked a Standard room and paid a bit more because we're very light sleepers. To our surprise, we were upgraded to a Premium room at check in. Also, they had a massive check-outs after the new year's eve so our premium room wasn't ready at 3:00 but the Standard room was. We opted to wait for the premium room and it was ready by 4:00. Check-in staff was very nice, they offered us drinks while waiting and also complimentary breakfasts during our 2 days stay for the delayed check-in. We thought it was just a continental breakfast but it was actually a full buffet one - very nice breakfast with waffle, eggs, sausages, bacon etc.

The room was very quiet, clean and updated nicely. So if you don't want the noise, pay a bit more for the premium ones. We didn't like the dinner at the hotel and will not recommend it. But the hotel itself is very large and there are some very quiet rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellelesage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear you had a quiet restful stay. We do indeed have 4 levels of guest rooms at our property including economy, comfort, plus and premier which enables us to meet a wide variety of guests needs. Our Premier Rooms are the newest addition to the hotel offering upgraded amenities such as a walk-in shower, iPod docking station and comfy robes for ultimate comfort.
We are also very pleased to announce that all guests will now be able to enjoy that full hot breakfast buffet with their stay complimentary.
It upsets us to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner dining experience. We are currently upgrading all of our Food & Beverage outlets starting with the “in progress” renovation of our West Coast Pub which will give our guest more variety and enhanced dining experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

On our last visit we had breakfast at the restaurant with our daughter and her 18 month old son. There was something on the menu for all of us, which you may know is a feat to an 18 month old! We were served with grace and consideration. All of us were so welcome comfortable that we sat extra long to enjoy just one more cup of coffee.
We have stayed at the Best Western The Westerly many times in the last ten years and would not stay anywhere else. The rooms are clean and comfortable; the bathrooms spotless and spacious. The beds are so comfy I have asked staff for directions on how to buy one for ourselves.
I have in the past and will in the future always recommend The Best Western The Westerly to all my friends and family who plan on staying in Courtenay .
Thank you so much to all the staff for a great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed here for one night for a wedding. The front desk service was prompt & friendly. We ended up calling the porter twice & he promptly came to our room both times. The room itself was a bit on the small side but clean & had everything I needed: a coffeemaker, the usual shampoos & soaps, an extra pillow, etc. There was also tons of parking - we parked right by the door.

The room overlooked the river & I thought it was a decent view. However, at night I noticed the main problem with this hotel: it's right next to the 17th Street bridge, & you can hear every single vehicle drive over the corrugated bridge surface all. night. long. Didn't get the most restful sleep as a result. However, as far as Courtenay hotels go, this is probably one of the best. I'd stay there again (but this time I'd bring earplugs).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I was here for a conference. The service was fantastic, but the facilities were very mediocre. The location is easy to get to, but the rooms end up noise do to the highways on two/three sides. The facilities seemed dated and slightly run down.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellelesage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Thank you for staying at The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre. We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our guest service! We are constantly trying to “refresh” our facilities. In 2010 we saw the addition of our Brand New 36-room Mountainside Wing and in early 2011 you will see a transformation in our West Coast Pub, Lobby, Dining Room and Wine & Tapas Bar; as well as some upgrades of our guestrooms in the Riverside Wing. We do hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the Comox Valley and see our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Westerly overnight on the way up Vancouver Island on a family Vacation. We had a boat in tow and had been out on the boat that day. Kids were hungry and the experience at the Westerly was excellent. We stayed in the newly constructed wing and the kids raved how much nicer it was than expected.The restaurant was fast and the Sunday Brunch in the morning was a highlight. The staff were very helpful in finding a appropriate place to park and wash down the boat along with some reccomendations for filling the coolers. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellelesage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

A friend and I recently spent a nite at this hotel and both of us were very impressed by the staff, our rooms and the overall operation of this hotel. Both of us travel a great deal and we were both very pleasantly surprised by how modern and high end our rooms were to the degree that we were both trying to remember having had better accomodation outside a major city.
In conclusion I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellelesage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We hope you make it your hotel of choice whenever you are visting the Comox Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: 1590 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.