We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good base for exploring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1590 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“good base for exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

we have used this hotel several times while on R&R in the Comox area - it is a convenient location with really helpful staff. and, if you book online, some reasonable deals on rates. the bar is great for beer but, for food, do yourself a favour and go to 'bisque' which is about 100yds away over the street and to the right; they are a brilliant restaurant (try the seafood paella).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member
Thank you so much for a wonderful review of our hotel.
The location is the best as you don't have to drive anywhere. Everything is within walking distance.
Restaurants, shops, and the river walk is right behind the hotel.
Thanks for the nod to our staff. They are the best in the valley and they always go out of their way to make your stay special.
Next time you stay with us try the Thursday night Prime Rib. It is out of this world. Also we have brought in a Sushi Chef on Wednesday through Sunday nights. You will not be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    121
    54
    19
    8
See reviews for
90
105
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have been staying at the Westerly for the last month on a weekly basis for work. All the staff have been really great and Jodi has gone above and beyond to be helpful and personable. She has made the Westerly really feel like my home away from home. Thanks Staff and Jodi!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lori C

I am very glad to hear that you have decided to choose our hotel as your home away from home.
We always hear how wonderful our staff is. It is rewarding to hear that it is consistently that way!
Thank you for taking the time to tell us and potential customers what a great experience it has been for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Went to Whiskey Fest (which included a dinner on the Friday evening and a seminar before the grand tasting on Saturday) and stayed over. We had a great time and appreciated the fine hospitality of the hotel. The staff were courteous, the room was comfortable, and the food and drink in the Flying Canoe was very satisfying. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to Whiskey Fest 2015.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Brian M
We LOVED having someone tell us how much they enjoyed the Whiskey Fest! Thank you so much.
Our team worked really hard on the event and we felt it was a great event for the community and the island.
Please spread the word so we can keep the Whiskey Fest going. It is always nice to have a Vancouver type event right on the island!
We very much appreciated your comments regarding the rest of our hotel and pub services as well. Thank you again and please come and stay and enjoy all the outdoor activities the area has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Exceptional staff (one even interrupted her break to help me- talk about above and beyond!), great rooms and delicious gluten-free options for breakfast (bread is the BEST gf bread I have tasted yet...I bought a loaf to take home!). Breakfast coupon is a clever method; you can use it to cover the entire continental breakfast (gf toast included) or towards the full breakfast menu. Beds were extremely comfy and quiet, as rooms are separated from main building/ restaurants. Second time I've stayed and will come back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Tera W
You were very kind to take the time to write a review about our hotel, employees and breakfast options.
Thank you for complimenting our staff who were feel are our greatest asset!
I haven't had anyone mention our gluten free option before so we are glad to hear it is utilized and appreciated. I am gluten free myself and often find it impossible to get that option.
We are thrilled about everything you said in your comments.
On behalf of everyone who works hard to bring you that experience we thank you.
Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great hotel, location is amazing, staff is very friendly. Hotel has everything you need including a restaurant as well as a bar with pool tables and dart boards. Rooms are nice, balconies on all of the rooms... nothing to complain about, would definitely recommend this hotel and I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Older part of the hotel backs onto a river with a bridge, noise didnt bother you but to some it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear rdrisc92
Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel and mentioning all it has to offer.
The pub and lounge with the pool tables offer entertainment and great food options
without having to leave the property and worry about driving.
Very happy you liked the room and the balcony to sit out on.
Good luck with the house hunting and please come and stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel when visiting my grandchildren in Courtenay. I always look forward to the chance to visit them and then retire to a clean,quiet room in the evening.
They love it when I invite them to come and swim in the lovey pool. It is like being in a spa.
I have found the staff to be very professional, friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the lovely complimentary breakfasts.
I look forward to many more stays at the Best Western Plus in Courtemay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Becky

We are so glad that our hotel makes your visits with family fun. There is nothing better than treating Grand Children to a swim in the pool!
Thanks also for complimenting our staff. They are the best in the Valley and we hear over and over again how pleasant and helpful they are.
Please come again soon and enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was here on a business and was travelling with my large dog. It is hard to find a pet-friendly hotel, so I chose the first one I could find in this small town. I was surprised when I arrived and saw how nice it was outside. The lobby and lounge area are also very nice for a low cost hotel. I was surprised that there was such a nice INDOOR pool and hot tub. It made my stay more enjoyable. The food at the pub was amazing -I highly recommend the Cumberland Pie.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi Melisa
Wow! I can't thank you enough for your positive and complimentary comments that you made regarding our hotel!
We try as hard as we can in every way to earn a compliment like yours. It makes our day!!
We can't wait for you to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: 1590 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.