We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Courtenay

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Courtenay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Courtenay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2605 South Island Highway, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2L8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Courtenay
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stay here whenever we visit the Comox Valley. Room always great. We travel with our Labrador Retriever and this place is perfect. Room on the backside are especially convenient if you need to take your dog out. The hotel is walking distance to everything you need: restaurants, bars, shopping, even a movie theater.

My only complaint would be about the WiFi...it was very slow and intermittent . Not sure if it was only in our area of the hotel or throughout. the property. We used the cable connection instead, and then it worked well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salim R, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Courtenay, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your stay. We have been trying to remedy the WIFI's slowness by trying out new companies. Thank you for your patience with this and are glad that you enjoy your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    70
    55
    16
    3
See reviews for
55
40
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here a number of times over the last few years, while on business. The location is great for us. The rooms are always spotless, although some are quite tiny. Considering the age of the building, everything is well maintained. A continental style breakfast is included with your stay - fresh pastries, cereals, coffee, tea and juice,,,oh and a boiled egg if you would like one!
What makes the place for us, is the hospitality and friendliness of all the staff; this is important to us as we usually stay for about ten days at a time. Quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house. All rooms are well back from busy roads. Staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salim R, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Courtenay, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We always strive to make each guests feel welcomed and their stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I travel to Courtenay/Comox several times a year and always choose to stay at this hotel. I find it's clean and quiet; and a recent bonus is the updating of rooms.
I make my reservations online, have never had an issue with that - and the staff are friendly and welcoming when I check-in or stop by the front desk.
I think the location is great with the Boston Pizza right next door, as well as other restaurants and amenities. I guess not much is far away anywhere in this community, but this hotel is stiking distance to anywhere. It's easy access to Island Hwy is a bonus too.
Good breakfast offered, plenty of parking, and a nice pool too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TansyP, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Courtenay, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your Review. I am glad that you are pleased with our updating of rooms and assure you that there will be more pleasant surprises in that department coming up over the next few months. We look forward to hosting you at our Motel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

the front desk service was great, very accomodating, friendly, prompt service.
the house-keeping needs tweeking, maid only wanted to move on to next room & only offered coffee. Tub was clearly NOT cleaned, had obvious scum build-up. Otherwise rest of room appeared clean.
Nice centrally located, but still quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TansyP, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Courtenay, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your Review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the Head Housekeeper regarding the room cleanliness, I assure you that this is not our standard of cleanliness. We look forward to hosting you back at our Motel again in the Future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This motel is located south of the main town in a quiet area and very conveniently to a shopping mall with Zellers, London Drugs, Jo Klassen’s Grill and White Spot. There was a small outdoor pool with a spacious apron surrounding it that was closed during our stay. The walkways, the office, the breakfast room, the car park were spotlessly clean as was the room. Each room has a wall air conditioner and the one installed in my room was on the noisy side but worked perfectly and effectively: no fuss, no confusion, very straightforward. The room was of average size and had a microwave and a mini-fridge with freezer compartment, coffee and tea. The mattress was comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side, consisting of shower and toilet with the sink outside the room. The shower had a good solid flow of water and had a grab bar installed.

Continental breakfast was included which consisted of self serve orange juice, hard boiled eggs, cereals, toast, muffins, yogurt, fresh bananas and apples, coffee and tea. The breakfast room was on the small side and would have been strained if a couple of dozen guests had turned up for breakfast at the same time. Not a problem on our days.

Although it is a walk up (no elevators) to the second floor, the motel is certainly much more than a basic property. The staff were pleasant and open. I had no need to request any further service because everything about it was comfortable and definitely met our needs. I would enjoy staying here again without hesitation, mainly because it’s exceptionally clean, completely satisfactory and convenient to the town and area in general.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TansyP, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Courtenay, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms with new paint etc. We strive to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The beds are comfortable, the kitchenette is stocked and convenient. Maybe upgrade the fridges as the freezer doors were leaping off. The breakfast was fresh and tasty!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TansyP, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Courtenay, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to hosting you at our Motel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nice surprise to find that they had updated this travelodge. Stayed one night and I was pleasantly surprised that the lobby and rooms had been upgraded. The rooms are small with double beds but clean. Breakfast was good. Ice machine is tiny and does not provide enough ice for the number of rooms.

Room Tip: Children are better on the first floor. If you do not like overhead noise ask for the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TansyP, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Courtenay, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked the upgrades, we are still doing some soft upgrade in the rooms. The ice machine is in the process of being replaced as we are aware that the small one is not enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Courtenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Courtenay

Address: 2605 South Island Highway, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2L8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Courtenay 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Motel located next to the Driftwood Mall and Rialto Theatres. All rooms have Air Conditioning, Free Wifi and come with a Deluxe Continental Breakfast. Some Pet rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Courtenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Courtenay
Courtenay Travel Lodge
Courtenay Travelodge
Travelodge Courtenay Vancouver Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Courtenay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.