We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Full Review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courtenay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort
Save
You added Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
5726 Coral Rd, Courtenay, British Columbia V9J 1W9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“See Full Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I camped at Bates Beach Resort this August with my family, this review is based on my visit at one of their campsites. We were located on the "greener" side with ocean front.
This was our first visit to Bates Beach and to this campsite. I will review as detailed as I can as I know how important campsite information is to people before they arrive :) This is very important as well due to the fact that here you must prepay for your entire visit upon arrival and refunds are not permitted.
Part of the campsite is concrete stalls, the other is what I call the "greener" side with tree's, grass and rock. All sites are very cramped together and allow for little privacy but on the flip side all the ocean front sides boast beautiful views.
The campsite seems to be divided by yearly and loyal return campers and the first timers, the overall atmosphere of the camp is comfortable.
The campsite areas are kept very clean and the bathroom is kept immaculate but we disliked having to use a key to access it. There is only one shower in each the women's and men's bathroom but that being said I never had to wait to use the shower.
It is good to note that you should be well prepared in shopping before your arrival as the store here does carry tackle and assorted goodies, but the selection of what is available is very limited especially regarding food choices.
The best experience for me here was the seals we sighted, it was great :) The kayak rentals are more than reasonable as well. There are trails close by to access with in a small drive at Seal Bay Park that hikers such as myself might enjoy.
The staff are very friendly and will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable.
All in all we enjoyed the stay and only were discomforted by the very cramped spaces, we personally just like larger sites with more natural surroundings.
We ourselves will not return just because of our particular need for space and natural surroundings but do recommend it to others who do not have concerns in that area or who will spend little time relaxing back at camp :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We opted for Bates Beach over the Provincial Campground at Miracle Beach because it was smaller and had better amenities.

Although the Bates were the nicest people and bent over backwards to please us, it seemed to us that everybody there had been coming for years, knew each other and we were strangers, and the odd men out. Boating was the big activity here... the beach is rocky except right at the foot of the boat launches. Not the safest place to swim.

We tented in space #30, and although we were disappointed at first by the size, lack of privacy and not level ground, overall we were satisfied and enjoyed our 3 night stay. The site was long and narrow, with nothing in between sites, not so great for tenting. There is an embankment which cuts off the campsites shown on the map (see my revised map) and a road to the public beach access right next door which was noisy. There is a trail from the campsite to this road which is used by campers to get to seal bay.

That being said, the view was breathtaking at all times, and the squirrels, seals and birds (Eagles, Kingfishers, Loons, ravens, and more) were all amazing.) Probably won't return, but am glad we went, and will never forget it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My Dad, son and I wanted a tenting getaway for a couple of days. Very scenic, quiet, clean, and friendly. Rates are very reasonable. We met some great people from another country and had a lot of fun. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I'm one of the people who's been going to Bates Beach for over 35 years now. It's a 3-generation deal for us - my parents, my husband and myself, and our children. We usually end up with a friend or two along as well!

Bates Beach has it all - priceless view, very comfortable amenities, and the best people around. The third generation of Bates' are working there now, and they are all dedicated to making sure your visit is the best it can be.

Some years the fishing is amazing, and others not so good. For those years, and even if you're not a fisherman, there are so many other things to do. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and beach combing can be done right out front of the campground. There are always people to talk to. Many golf courses are nearby, as well as Mount Washington, Comox Days, the Filberg Festival, etc. You just can't get bored!

Being a Bates Beach Bum is something I look forward to all year long :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

we stayed for a week in mid Aug. the staff at bates were incredible! the bathroom was cleaned many times a day and the prices were fair.

we stayed in a tent, just behind the r.v. and trailers. the tent sites are huge and have power and water in that area that is yours to use for free, it was good to be able to was dishes and charge the phone and camera at will.

the people at bates are all like one big family, every body knows each others names and as we met and talked to them my wife and i found that most had been going there for 10, 20 even 30+ years.

they staff offer up daily "kids camp" for the young ones (at no charge) and teach the kids ways to have fun without an x-box or ipod.

the boat house has rentals for the water and basic food needs at reasonable rates, and when you go fishing they will post a picture of your catch in the boat house.

in all bates offers everything you need for a summer adventure, from tent sites, RV pads, condo's or just a great boat launch to some good fishing. it's close to Mt. Washington, a national park, Campbell river and Courtney. The fishing is good, the bike trails are great, the people are awesome and its beautiful, how can you go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 5726 Coral Rd, Courtenay, British Columbia V9J 1W9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay, BC's most beautiful resort location - Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort. Located just north of the town of Courtenay, on Georgia Straight, Bates Beach boasts beautiful rocky beaches, great fishing, and a gorgeous natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.