We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a bike shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broken Spoke Coffee House

The Broken Spoke Coffee House
420 Fitzgerald Ave and 5th, Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
250 871 2229
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Courtenay
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Vancouver, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than a bike shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

If you are in Courtenay,BC be sure to visit the Broken Spoke. I haven't used their bicycle repair services but their specialty coffees are excellent. And I can't remember having a better muffin. Great, friendly service. Highly Recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best coffee in Courtenay by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Wonderful service, great muffins and great coffee from a Vancouver Island Roaster. A must try when you are in town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best espresso in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I live in Courtenay and have am a coffee fanatic. I've tried pretty much every place in the Valley and have almost always been disappointed. Broken Spoke is one of the few places I can more or less consistently get excellent espresso, macchiato and cappuccino. That said, it depends on who is the barista. The fellow with the australian (or NZ?) accent is your best bet. His partner is a bit hit or miss by comparison. They use coffee roasted by Discovery in Victoria (the best on the Island). They have a cool bike shop in half their space with some neat cruiser style bikes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great spot to rest for awhile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Enthusiasitc staf and knowledgable about bikes and trails. Coffee is great.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Upscale Bike Shop & Coffee House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We are visiting BC from southern California and stumbled on this really neat bike shop and coffee house. We are road cyclists and regularly cycle three times a week and average around 100+ miles weekly.

The coffee and muffin were fabulous. Latte was thick and creamy with a leafy design on top when served. And, the bike shop is very upscale with beautiful wooden floors and tables and benches. Everything is very well laid out with a good selection of clothing, accessories and bikes. One of the most interesting aspects of the layout is the bicycle repair area which is right at the front of the shop. Most bike shops we are familiar with have the mechanics and repairs at the back of the shop. We thought that this layout worked quite well. Customers could get a sense of what types of things they need to be concerned about, i.e., tuneups, chains, safety accessories like lights & helmets, etc. Very, Very Nice Shop. And, the barristas and shop attendants were all friendly and quite welcoming.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broken Spoke Coffee House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to The Broken Spoke Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broken Spoke Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.