We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Off Main

Michael's Off Main
Fourth Street, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 1G8, Canada
(250) 334-2071
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 120 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Small, cramped, wobbly tables... BUT seriously great food. Their breakfasts are perfect and their service is fast and efficient. We keep coming back...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hypocrisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

There's a sign on the wall in the back that says something about toil consumption or global warming or something, I forget now. I do remember being struck by the irony when we were brought out generic honey, jams and creamers in little, single-serve plastic packages that end up in the trash! We are in 2013 and the world is choking from pollution, smarten up! And if you refuse to be responsible, at least take that stupid sign down!

The food is whatever. Poor quality ingredients. Coffee is terrible considering it's a breakfast joint. I'm shocked this place is so busy but then again I've never found the Comox Valley to exhibit much good taste or discernment. Go to Oh So Yummy for a real, quality breakfast and MUCH better service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worlds Best Eggs Beni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hands down the best eggs beni I have ever put in my mouth. You know the foods good when you have to wait in line to get in the door some days. But its always worth the wait.

Its a hidden little secret you would hardly know it was there driving by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our spot for family breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is our family breakfast place like once a month. Portions are large, kids love the eggs Benny and the fruit waffles. Only thing I would change is the coffee - very bitter!! Plus over cooked way too crispy hash browns. Love the local sausage. Service is average at best but the food makes up for it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“family breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good breakfast - solid & well done - great cozy place to sit. Good service. Large size portions plus excellent coffee

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Off Main also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Michael's Off Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Off Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.