We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Awesome Location & Excellent Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Cliffe Aveune, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2L4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Awesome Location & Excellent Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel has a great location and is quite affordable even with the tourist high summer rates. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff is very friendly! I'll be staying here again on my next trip to Courtenay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKMatkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear nfriesen1,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley!

We are tremendously honored to hear you describe our hotel as a great hotel with an awesome location and excellent staff! We are very proud of the staff, services and facilities that we have at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Comox Valley and we are delighted to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Courtenay!

nfriesen1, it is an honor and a pleasure to serve you as a valued guest at our hotel! Thank you for your complimentary review, we appreciate your patronage, and we are eager to welcome you back in future.

Sincerely,

JMatkin Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    75
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
86
71
19
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
108 Mile Ranch, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and wish it could have been more, this is a wonderful place to stay very reasonable prices and very clean rooms, the bed is extremely comfortable and the breakfast is better than most ...but the deal breaker is the service, nicest staff in the industry and I work in the hospitality industry I was so impressed with the entire operation...well done!

Room Tip: No bad rooms very quiet spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKMatkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Andy W,

Thank you for your beautiful review of your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley!

The title of your review has us grinning from ear to ear! What a tremendous compliment to state that you just left and want to come back! Thank you so much for your kind compliments! I look forward to sharing your review with our Staff and Management team. We are very proud to have exceeded your expectations during your time with us and we are so thrilled to hear you describe our staff as "the nicest staff in the industry". We are tremendously proud of the commitment to a high level of guest satisfaction that our staff bring into the hotel each day and we thank you for your acknowledgement of their efforts.

Thank you for making the Holiday Inn Express & Suites your venue of choice for visits to the Comox Valley! It is an honor to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Sincerely,

JMatkin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here a week with our two little ones on a business trip. Our room layout was fantastic with a king sized bed with a TV in one part of the room, and a sofa bed with another TV in the other, allowing my husband and I to stay awake after lights-out.

The rooms are fantastically clean! I didn't find any dirt (or even any fingerprints) anywhere.

The bathrooms are modern and updated, quite spacious, and well-lit. Plenty of towels! The shower heads, though, made the water pressure seem low.

Beds are very cozy and pillows are excellent. I love that you can pick firm or soft!

The pool area would be fine, but was quite busy and full of people when we went.

We'd never been to the Comox Valley before so we didn't know what to expect. The hotel was located in a good spot, close to amenities and things. There are mountain views in the distance.

Breakfast was great, but after a few days, it can get a bit repetitive. But it is free, and there is a good selection of foods.

Even on a busy BMX weekend, the hotel was quiet! Amazing!

We will definitely be coming back here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKMatkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Rennie A,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a wonderful review of your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley!

It is an honor and an absolute pleasure to have had the opportunity to accommodate you for your first visit to the Comox Valley! We feel that it is one of the most beautiful places on earth and I hope that you had an opportunity to explore the area!

Thank you for your kind words regarding the cleanliness and condition of the hotel and your guestroom! Our housekeeping department takes a great deal of pride in making our hotel sparkle and they will be thrilled to hear you noticed! I am well pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and I look forward to sharing your compliments with our Staff and Management Team.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites on your recent visit to the Comox Valley! We appreciate your patronage and look forward the opportunity to welcome you back again in future.

Sincerely,

JMatkin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozona, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

From the amazingly personable desk clerk, Aaron, to the most perfect pillows ever - this place is a must-stay!! We loved everything about it. We stayed in the family suite and fell in love with the beds and the pillows....they even have "firm" or "soft" embroidered on their pillow covers. The room was comfortable with a generous sized bathroom - and it was VERY clean. The free continental breakfast was just enough to refuel before heading out to explore, and the lady running the show in there was bending over backwards for everyone! Your staff here is fantastic and the hotel and location is perfect. Being from Florida, I'm not a huge fan of indoor pools, but my husband and 7 year old daughter LOVED the three-story waterside!! Thanks again.....we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKMatkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear DivingGurl,

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley!

It is a pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found Aaron at the Front Desk to be amazingly personable! I am very excited to share your kind words and your beautiful review with him. Aaron will be very pleased to have made such a positive impact on your time at our hotel! I am happy to hear that your guestroom as well as the services and facilities that we have to offer were well suited to the needs of your family! We encourage all of our valued guests to make a splash in our indoor pool and we are delighted to hear that your husband and daughter had an opportunity to enjoy the water slide.

We thank you DivingGurl for your decision to choose our hotel! We are honored that you did not pass us by giving us an opportunity to host your family at our hotel. It is a pleasure to serve you, we appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon :)

Sincerely,

JMatkin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a 8 day trip around Vancouver Island. We had a great stay here. The hotel seems very new, everything is in excellent condition. It is located on a main road in town and backs right up to a lovely walking path that is something like 10K long. We even walked downtown from the hotel in about 20 minutes. All the staff members we interacted with were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was quite good and they were well prepared to handle a lot of people (including lots of kids) at breakfast. It also amazed me how quiet the rooms were. I did not hear any noise from either people or just doors closing. Our only feedback is the wireless was quite slow though we were happy to have it after being at a remote hotel before this. Overall great place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out the back of the hotel towards the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKMatkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sandra L,

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent experience at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley!

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the services, facilities and staff at our location. It is fantastic to hear that you had an opportunity to explore the Airpark walking path located behind the hotel. We feel most fortunate to be located in such close proximity to such a beautiful area. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Staff! We are very proud of the commitment to guest satisfaction that they bring into the building each and everyday and I look forward to sharing your review with our team.

I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced due to the trouble we had with our wireless internet network during your stay with us. With the help of our wireless network provider we are working to find a viable long term solution to improve the speed of the service.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

J.Matkin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is your above average hotel - very new. Hotel staff very friendly. Great pool and waterslide along with Holiday Inn's signature continental breakfast. We stayed two evenings - first evening was great, nice hot tub, pool and waterslide. Beautiful view from the back onto the water.

Second night, hotel was full with kids there for a BMX bike competition. Really noisy in the halls until about 11:00. This was not really in the hotel's control. Felt like leaving a couple of times with kids high pitched voices in hallway. Fun is fun, but parents should have kids do so in the pool area or outside.

Wifi continually cut in and out over our entire stay. Hotel staff tried to fix but not able to do so. Sounds like they were going to work on improving this.

Continental breakfast had some mystery eggs. Perhaps they could substitute bacon for the two different types of sausage. Juice machine did not work.

Room Tip: When booking, ask if there wifi problems have improved. May want to ask if there are sports teams b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKMatkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Rick W,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley!

Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendliness of our staff! Our staff work very hard to make the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley a leader in excellence and we are tremendously proud of their efforts. It is wonderful to hear that found our property to be above average, clean and new. Thank you for your kind words.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced due to the problems that we encountered with our wireless network and juice machine during your stay, as well as the noise disturbance. I can confirm that the wireless issues have been rectified and the juice machine has been repaired also. Your suggestions regarding the breakfast bar have been passed along to our General Manager for consideration.

Rick W., I thank you for bringing these matters to our attention! It is feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that enables us to target problem areas and implement strategies to prevent similar situations from occurring in future.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley Rick W. It is a pleasure to serve you as a valued guest at our hotel! We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Sincerely,

JMatkin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have two teenagers that have gotten to a point where they do NOT want to share a bed. This Holiday Inn has a family suite that has 2 Queens in the main room and a separate bedroom with a King bed. It was great.
the other features of this hotel that I loved were the water slide, and the breakfast.
One caution, the room says it is a kitchenette, it has a microwave, a mini fridge, and a small kitchen sink. There were some dishes and a few forks it think, but you could not cook a meal.
We would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKMatkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear menelson2001,

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley!

It is a pleasure to hear that the family suite was well suited to the needs of your family. I am well pleased to hear that your family had a chance to enjoy the water slide, and that you appreciated the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Buffet. .

My sincere apologies for the misinformation regarding a kitchenette. We typically sell those features as a "convenience center", not a kitchenette. We recognize that there is a big difference between a kitchenette and a convenience center; we can certainly understand how this could be frustrating. In order to ensure that this does not occur moving forward I will be taking a deeper look at our web advertising. We certainly do not want any incorrect information out there! If you remember where you read or heard kitchenette, would you please kindly give me a call at the hotel so that I can narrow down my search and have the wording changed to "convenience center" immediately?

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites on your recent trip to the Comox Valley! We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you family back again soon.

Sincerely,

JMatkin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW

Address: 2200 Cliffe Aveune, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley! Our friendly service oriented staff are dedicated to providing you with a memorable experience that will leave a lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Comox Valley is the newest property in the Courtenay/ Comox area with the Comox Valley's only in-hotel waterslide. Our convenient location is ideal for corporate guests. Inquire about holding your next meeting in our lovely Seaview Boardroom, or prepare for that next big presentation in our 24 hour business center where we welcome you to take advantage of the self serve complimentary fax and photocopy services. Naturally we offer complimentary high-speed wireless internet access in all of our guestrooms and throughout the entire hotel. Leisure guests and families love our amenities! Stay Smart with our free hot breakfast buffet, focus on fitness in our 24 hour fitness center, or make a splash in our family oriented indoor pool with waterslide and spacious hot tub. All of our beautifully appointed guestrooms feature HD TV on 32" multi-media televisions, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer with the majority of our guestrooms featuring stellar mountain or ocean views. We invite you to keep cool and get out of the summer heat in our air conditioned guestrooms, or curl up under our warm and cozy deluxe comfort bedding collection on a blustery winter’s day. Whatever the season, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Comox Valley has your comfort in mind!The Comox Valley is nestled in the scenic splendor of Forbidden Plateau and the Comox Glacier. Visitors to the Comox Valley often enjoy hitting the slopes for an exhilarating ski or snowboard adventure on Mount Washington, kayaking in the Straights of Georgia, or hiking in the vast pristine wilderness that surrounds us.So, for your next trip to Vancouver Island let us welcome you to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley in the heart of British Columbia's "Adventure Playground." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Courtenay Comox Valley Sw
Holiday Inn Express Courtenay
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW Vancouver Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.